We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matejko to your Saves list
Hotel Matejko
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland (Kleparz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very good hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

located a 5 min brisk walk from the main square this hotel was very good. We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. Breakfast was standard fare (continental) however food was regularly replenished and the bread was especially nice. Rooms were basic but kept clean and we were surprised to find out we had a sauna in the room! Only downside to the room is we were next to the cleaners room and in the morning the cleaners would talk with the door open. Will def be coming back next year though.

Room Tip: avoid a room next to the cleaners store room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    233
    68
    12
    2
See reviews for
59
189
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was just the job. We arrived to be greeted by a sweet and helpful young receptionist and departed the same way. No problems. Breakfast choices were good, covering many tastes, hotel was very clean, room was basic but no more than we needed. We were on fourth floor and looking out of our window we could see the the church just across the road - but didn't hear the bells at all.
Location is good, about 10 mins to heart of the main square, five to the gateway. If you come out of the hotel and turn left, the coffee shop furthest along the road was excellent. If you turn right and right again, 150 yards brings you to the huge shopping centre.
Krakow is awash with restaurants and bars, and many are so cheap I cringed. You pay more on the main square but still less than my local. Negotiate the electric cart around the city tour, worth while. Try the one hour 'gondola' sail along the river from close by the castle, less than a fiver each.
We hired krakow@bobtaxi.com.pl to take us to Auschwitz. Nice guy, totally reliable and friendly and he looked after us.
Happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two night on a short tip to Krakow and Auschwitz. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk (4mins) and your in the centre square. The hotel is pretty dated and doesn't have any feel personality to it but for a few nights it was perfectly adequate. Our room (412) was quite a large room but I was disappointed that out view backed onto the back of another building, it would have been nice to have a room that have a street view. The bathroom was very large however due to it being a disabled room the shower was directly over a disabled seat making it very awkward to shower. The shower curtain didn't fit the rail properly and subsequently we have a small river in the bathroom running into the bedroom. There was also a large stain on the floor which didn't look very nice. The bed however was very large and comfy! No hairdryer in the room and you also only get one bottle of water for your entire stay. Breakfast was average for me. There was a selection of meats, cheeses, yoghurts, tinned fruit in a bowl, teas and coffees etc! We had breakfast the first morning but decided that it was worth getting up the next morning for it :( All in all an ok hotel for the price (£50 per night) and the location makes up for its downfalls! Could be a great little hotel with some work and modifications!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, 5 mins stroll to town, rooms nice and clean. Service was good decent English spoken. Had a packed lunch one day to take Auschwitz no charge! Breakfast was more than ample with plenty of choice (mainly continental) we stayed on first floor and contrary to other reviews were never bothered by bells from the church! Admittedly cocktails may have helped! Would definitely recommend to anybody, and would stay again. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent two nights in room 114. I'm not sure what the other rooms were like but ours was not very good. The room had vertical blinds with panels missing. They had obviously been broken for some time and not fixed. When I asked to have them fixed Or for us to be moved was fobbed off with an excuse that the maintenance person would fix them at 7 pm. Needless to say that didn't happen and we were not moved. Hence we had two nights with the light shining in the window. When we arrived there was no soap so I asked for some. This was duly delivered only to be removed the following morning! Our room was situated right next to the house maids storage room so at 8.00am we were woken by the house maids having their morning chat and filing their trolleys ( with no consideration of the guests in the room).

The breakfast was below average and the staff had to be asked to refill containers.

The hotel is well situated with a 5 minute walk to the town square. If you are looking for a close hotel to the sights then this hotel would be ok. I wouldn't choose this hotel if I was to return to Krakow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely hotel... Rooms clean, great choice of breakfast, nice staff. Stayed here for four nights and couldn't fault it. If I'm ever back in Krakow I will definitely be staying here. Have recommended to a few people who have gone there since and they thought the same.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location. You can walk 5 mins into the old town. Situated on a lovely green square too. The hotel is dull though - reception is pure Polish functionalism and the reception staff are ok but not really trying to make a difference. The rooms are clean if basic. Breakfasts were average at best. They charge for the wi-fi and there are at least 2 pass codes to enter - mine rarely worked and I demanded a refund, which I got after a mini battle. It's a shame - this hotel will continue to attract guests because of its location but it really ought to be much better than this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: Plac Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matejko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.