We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in Krakow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic House Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nordic House Apartments to your Saves list
Nordic House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Anny St SW | Old Town, Krakow 31 008, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #105 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in Krakow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently and I can recommend it very highly. There is no elavator so you do have to climb stairs, however it did not bother us since we are used to climbing stairs. The room was very large even by American standards and so was the bathroom. It was sparsly furnished but everything was there to make the stay very comfortable. Breakfast downstairs in the basement pub was not fancy but certainly adequate. One soft boiled egg, cheese and coldcuts, bread and coffee. All tasted very good. And the best thing was the location, just a few steps from the Main Square (Rynek Glowny), If we come back we definetly will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break (couples) and can highly recommend it.
The service was great and they were more than willing to help with any problems or advice needed on where to go etc.
Upon arrival we were unsure as to what to expect. As other reviews have mentioned, you walk into a dark dingy hallway followed by a few flights of warped concrete stairs! As soon as we had booked in and seen our room though our opinions changed.
The rooms really are huge and kitted out with plenty of furniture. (beds were ok)
En suite bathroom was also a good size and well kitted out.
We did not eat at the apartments as we were out pretty late each night and didn't get up early enough!!

As for the location, well if your after a central location practically in the heart of all things Krakow, then this is the place for you!
Walk around the corner and your in the main square. The square is surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants! Some of the best bars are the ones beneath street level so not easy to find, don't be put off by the dark medieval looking entrances!

All in all, a great place to stay which has a central location, good clean rooms and a fair & reasonable price!
Eating & drinking in Krakow is still reallllly cheap so go now before the prices get hiked up!

Room Tip: Probably not best if your disabled as all of the rooms are on the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Got back from Krakow today after staying in the Nordic house apartments for 4 nights. Had been recommended this place by family so knew it would be good but was really pleased when arrived, literally just off the main square. Couldn't ask for a better location. The stairway is quite dark and dingy but the apartments are huge, very open and bright. The rooms were clean and modern, cleaner was in everyday making the bed. Only went for breakfast once as was at trips early the other days but was nice, chap was very friendly and asked if we wanted any information on the area.

Couldn't check in till 2pm which was bit of a pain aside arrived at 10am but just sat in cafe round the corner. Overall was very impressed, terms of price, location and space I'd give it 5/5. Hope to return some day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved our apartment on the 3rd floor. High ceilings, very spacious and the location is unbeatable next to the main square. The guy who manages was very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was good, simple with ham, cheese, egg and coffee,juice.

We picked up our keys in the Sushi restaurant next door which felt strange in front of diners but the staff were friendly.

Read previous reviews about the flight of stairs. Well as an unfit 40 yr old, we were on the very top and yes it did test my fitness but in a good way...although if you have heavy luggage this could be testing...although you would only do this once! You can request the hotel to have a first or 2nd floor room if you wish.

Definitely recommend these apartments

Room Tip: There are 3 floors so if you are unfit to climb the stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me first say that the rooms are massive and clean. Thankfully the windows all open so you can get decent air flow through the room as there is no AC. We were on the third floor and sadly, the thing I will always remember about Nordic House, is the 87 steps from the ground floor to our rooms. Now with small bags that is fine but each of us has been away for a while and averaged a 21kg bag each plus carry on bags. Suffice to say, we struggled with our bags and minimised trips to our rooms. They also provided breakfast which was basic but fine and included coffee. There was also a minor debacle getting the keys from the Sushi shop when we arrived. They were less than helpful and car parking in non existent.

Room Tip: Pick a hotel with a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and location is perfect - a side street off the main square with good restaurants next door. The room although large could do with updating but was fine. It had large windows so room was light and airy. Our room was on the top floor so many many stairs to climb - no lift. Breakfast excellent and down stairs in cellar - juice, coffee, bread rolls, cheese, ham and boiled egg which was terrific. Staff were lovely and so willing to help - can also arrange tours. We walked from the train station - allow 15-20 minutes if you don't get distracted by all of the beautiful architecture. Free WI-FI. Yes, we would stay again.

Room Tip: No lift so be aware of stairs. Balcony's on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The central location was excellent! The room it self was very basic old office room. Very good choice when you want a simple and cheap accommodation in central location and don´t mind dull interior (the old building it self is beautiful!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Saski Hotel
#128 of 248 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#7 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#33 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#38 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#58 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic House Apartments

Address: 5 Anny St SW | Old Town, Krakow 31 008, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordic House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nordic House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic House Apartments Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.