We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid location with steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Fontaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B La Fontaine to your Saves list
B&B La Fontaine
Slawkowska 1, Krakow 31-014, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 110 Krakow B&B and Inns
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Splendid location with steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was looking for an accomodation in the old town for a price below 100 Euros. La Fontaine is right in one of the corners of the magnificent historic town square. The B&B appartments are on the 3rd floor of the building, without elevator. This is about the only drawback (the staff help me carrying my suitcase). But given that I had light luggage it was more then compensated by the price, very friendly staff and the prime location. Guests of the B&B receive a voucher for a free aperitif of the La Fontain restaurant. The hotel days ends at 12pm but I could stay until 1:30pm without extra payment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
16
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

La Fontaine provide basic rooms and apartments for reasonable price. Despite the fact that they call themselves bed&breakfast, you have to pay if you want to eat breakfast at the hotel. However, its location is very central, so if you need a place to sleep it's worth to book. It has poor wifi connection, but the room was tidy and there was always hot water in the shower.

Room Tip: We had a room (not from the street side) probably on the top floor but still it was very noisy durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute joke. Firstly we booked la fontaine ii but when we arrived it was apparently 'too cold' so was advised to stay in the spare room they had in la fontaine. The bb itself has a disgusting smell to it. We moved rooms as the room we were first given had dirty sheets and smelt of dust. In the new room we expreienced a few showers too many to be cold. Then the maids decided it would be ok for them to help themselves to make up. Thieves do not leave anything laying about. And to top it off we checked out and were asked to pay for our room. (Which we had already paid for and proved to them with emails and invoices) they then told us they would call the airport and not let us out of the country if we didn't pay them AGAIN. This left us no choice but to pay again. Staff were so angry and stuck up. Worst experience we have ever had and couldn't wait to see the back of the place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

perfect location just off the main square and a 15 minute walk to the train/bus station. Next time we go to krakow we will definitely be staying at the la fontaine. and as for people complaining that there was no lift i take a city break being up stairs as standard unless they state there is a lift not the other way round.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nowhere on the booking agent's or the hotel's own website does it inform you that it has NO LIFT and is not suitable for disabled or older guests as you have to walk up six flights of stairs. Disgraceful. We had to find and pay for another hotel but were unable to get a refund. The reason - it's not illegal to FAIL TO MENTION SOMETHING THAT IS CRUCIAL TO YOUR DECISION.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this quaint hotel just off the marvellous main square in krakow. We stayed in room 3 a small attic room with, comfy bed, velux windows, TV, safe and wifi ideal for a short stay. Yes the stairs are a bit if a problem but we are both in our early fifties and not really that fit but we coped even on the odd occasion when we'd sampled too much of the local brew. We tried the breakfast and didn't really rate it. We also ate in the restaurant 1 evening and food was really good it cost £60 for 3 courses with a decent bottle of wine. The staff are friendly and polite. We would use this hotel again and have no problem in recommending it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What the booking agency and the hotel's own website DOESN'T mention is that ALL the accommodation is on the 3rd floor and there is NO LIFT. We are seniors and could not manage the 77 steps but no refund given when we had to find another hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Fontaine

Address: Slawkowska 1, Krakow 31-014, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you Single/double/quadruple rooms with single or double beds, and 2-3 bedrooms apartments. Each room and apartment has a cozy lounge (equipped with a fridge and microwave oven). There is an air-conditioning, satellite TV, wifi and telephone in every room and apartment as well one or two bathrooms with a bath, hair-dryer and towels. We offer you also shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. The reception is open 24/24 and you try to do our best to make your trip in Cracow the best it could be! you can also organize to you transferts to the airport or to the main attractions in cracow . You also have a restaurant where you can have the breakfast between 7 and 11 o`clock and lunch/dinner all the day long ! Shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your B&B La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b La Fontaine Hotel Krakow
Bed And Breakfast La Fontaine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.