We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful charming hotel/great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grodek

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grodek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-038, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Sanibel Island, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful charming hotel/great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our stay was relaxing, quiet and very close to old town. Great service, friendly staff. My one suggestion: replace the beds.
We found them very low to the floor making it extremely difficult to fold clothes to repack.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    61
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
192
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at Hotel Grodek.
The location is perfect, just a little off the main roads, so it's nice and quiet. But it's also almost dead center of the old town, so you have walking distance to everything in this district.
We didn't try the local restaurant at the hotel, there were so many other first class restaurants just a few streets away.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to other couples traveling in Krakow.
If I were to mention one negative element, it was the number of "homeless" people staying in the Planty just outside. It was a bit creepy, but there were often security personel around outside.

Room Tip: We had a room facing in the backalley, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Krackow was fabulous. Hotel Grodek, staff brilliant, room charming & spotless, breakfast had everything you could ever want.
Each day the reception staff printed out information for my travel companion and I. We visited Salt Mines, Schindlers Factory, Auchwitz and all the attractions in Krakow.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, in a quiet cul-de-sac just off the Planty, 4 mins walk from market square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel is only about 2 blocks away from the Market Square but is on a cul-de-sac street so it is quiet without any people or vehicle noise. However, a major road, with trams, is only across the small garden ("planty") so depending on the location of the room, sounds may come through.

Breakfast has many choices and of very high quality. Rooms are large and bright.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the terrace floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here recently and enjoyed it but the experience was greatly lessened by the room which was really only suitable as a single. With only one small case each we had difficulty moving about. Pity, as the hotel is quaint, well located, nice staff, and a reasonable breakfast.
We had a better experience elsewhere in Krakow

Room Tip: Double standard may be too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Grodek in June 2013 for 7 nights as part of a tour group in a nicely decorated and comfortable room. Although I usually walked to my room on the third floor, there was an elevator available. There were two bottles of water included with the room (one "with gas" and one without). The bathroom was bright and clean. The room temperature was not always consistent, but for the most part it was comfortably cool. We had a breakfast buffet every morning which included everything from omelets cooked to order to breads, cheeses, meats and fruit. The staff was friendly, courteous and attentive, both in the restaurant and at the front desk. One of the best features of the hotel is that it is a short walk from Krakow's main Market Square and a bit longer walk from several notable churches and the Wawel Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I originally booked a room in the Grodek’s sister hotel, the Pugetow. When we learned that the Pugetow could not easily accommodate certain of my sister’s health issues, Pugetow management worked with the management of the Grodek and found us a suitable room. The service commitment in the Donimirski chain is simply superb and very deeply appreciated.
The Grodek is in a beautiful, classy building a few steps off the Planty, and an easy stroll from the Mariacka cathedral and the Rynek. It’s in a charming, cozy neighbourhood, with some very lovely shopping and restaurants. It has an elevator that takes you to a peaceful rooftop garden from which you can see the Mariacka and other rooftops. If you prefer, the staircases are easy to find and very charming, with artwork and curios and gorgeous ironwork.
Our room had two single beds and faced across a tiny courtyard to a large wall covered in green climbing vines. Every morning there was a verdant glow from that wall. The windows were huge, six or eight huge panes, and opened both vertically and horizontally, as many European windows do. Some people may not like that view (the green wall) but we found it relaxing and peaceful.
The room was quite large and comfortable, with a coffee / tea maker, which we made good use of. The bathroom was sufficient and the plumbing worked well. We had a room safe that was well sized and welcome, bathrobes, a small fridge, and extra chairs. There was lots of space for our clothes as well as our shopping, in drawers and countertops. The only complaint was that the beds were quite low and soft – we’re used to firmer and higher mattresses. After a bit of effort from the hotel staff the air conditioning worked perfectly. There was a small collection of cats hanging out in the courtyard, and some slept on top of a little woodshed. They added a bit of home and character, and we sometimes threw bits of sausage down onto the woodshed roof (manna from heaven, from their point of view).
Breakfast was served in a lovely, sophisticated room in the lower level, also facing into that courtyard, with a glass roof. There was an abundance of food - proteins, fruits & veggies, and carbs. The cappuccinos were perfect and brought very promptly by the attentive, friendly staff; the pastries were fresh and superb. My only complaint is the choice of music – it was either Celine Dion or Bryan Adams, and sometimes played too loud. It would be better to have light jazz (especially given Krakow’s reputation for jazz, surely some local talent could be featured!!!) classical, or a light pop mix. Even though I’m Canadian, Sealion and Bryan are too much for me in the a.m.
The staff of the Donimirski chain are simply wonderful. Pan Stanislaus, a mature very dignified gentleman, was especially helpful and knowledgeable. He helped us with the AC, and when our room safe wouldn’t open. He also helped us book a tour to Zakopane, and spoke of the history and economy of Poland. Maciej recognized my sister’s accent as being from the northeast, which was really surprising as she left Poland as a preteen over 50 years ago. There were several beautiful young ladies who were also very friendly and helpful at the front desk.
The location is perfect, the facilities very comfortable, but even more, the hospitality and old world charm are impeccable. Thank you to all the staff (and to the Pugetow too!!) for making this visit so comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Address: ul Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#8 Business Hotel in Krakow
#40 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grodek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.