We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour of Jewish quarter well worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galicia Jewish Museum

Galicia Jewish Museum
Dajwor Street 18, Krakow 31-052 , Poland (Kazimierz)
(0048)12 4216842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 226 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Galicia Jewish Museum exists to commemorate the victims of the Holocaust and to celebrate the Jewish culture of Polish Galicia, presenting Jewish history from a new perspective.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Private tour of Jewish quarter well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My two friends and I visited Krakow in December, 2013. We had read about the very large public tours of the Jewish Quarter and WWII ghetto, and decided on a private tour instead. We emailed the Jewish Museum before arriving in Krakow, and they arranged this for us with one of their guides, Gosia. She picked us up at our hotel exactly as arranged, and things proceeded beautifully. The tour was absolutely excellent. We learned a lot, saw a lot, asked a lot of questions, and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly (well, as thoroughly as possible, given the history we were reliving). Well worth the extra money of a private tour, and something we will remember all our lives. Thank you, Gosia!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    59
    19
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lafayette, california
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well done exhibit of the Jewish past in Poland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I highly recommend this Jewish Museum. It is a small exhibit- we spent about 45 minutes looking at
the displays- they are all photographs divided into 5 categories-Jewish Life in Ruins,Jewish Culture,Sites of Massacre,How Pat is being Remembered,People Making Memory

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“MEMORABLE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a small museum that is well worth a visit. It's primarily limited to the permanent exhibition of a remarkable series of photographs with accompanying commentary about the remaining remnants of Poland's once very large, vibrant Jewish population. There were 3.2 million Jewish Poles before World War II - only 55,000 survived the war.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This museum utilizes great photography to examine Jewish history in Galicia. This museum provided a nice visual history to what I had been experiencing during the previous days of touring Krakow, Kazimerz and Auschwitz/Birkenau.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Museum not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent educational facilities and frequently changing exhibitions -coupled with a decent bookshop and a very warm welcome.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galicia Jewish Museum also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Galicia Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galicia Jewish Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.