We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ''okay''...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Church of St. Peter and St. Paul

Church of St. Peter and St. Paul
ul. Grodzka 52a, Krakow 31-044, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 422 65 73 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It was ''okay''...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The 12 Apostles were not as impressive as I'd hoped.

Our hotel was directly opposite the church and the Apostles, though beautifully sculpted, all looked anguished and in horror. The cathedral itself is very minimal and the crypt display is not very interesting.

Having recently visited Duomo Cathedral in Milan, the 12 Apostles pale in comparison.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    52
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside and inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The twelve apostles are on a wall outside of St. Peter & St. Paul church. The inside of the church is beautiful and the acoustics of the church is the best that I have ever heard. They hold classical music concerts there two or three times a week usually starting at 8 pm. Admission is 60 PLN and well worth checking out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must for lovers of culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

well maintained and great detail, a must for culture lovers!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Twelve apostles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

On the entrance wall of the church of St. Peter and St. Paul there are beautiful carved statues of the 12 Apostles.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful church, beautiful staff; Attend the concert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This church is absolutely gorgeous inside and the staff who work there couldn't be more welcoming. I very rarely donate to the church, but after spending 20 minutes speaking with a young woman about the church's history, I gladly dropped 50 ZLT (10 GBP) into their donation slot. The church is beautifully kept up and you can really imagine parishioners from hundreds of years ago attending. The history is also fascinating - I encourage you to look it up.

I also attended an evening classical music concert there (also 50 ZLT) one night. It was such a unique experience -the acoustics are phenomenal. My only feedback is that they had placed a large lamp behind the musicians (like the kind that illuminate archeological dig sites) and it was jarring and distracting. I'd highly recommend either lower lighting or candles to truly create the right atmosphere.

I

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of St. Peter and St. Paul also viewed

 

Been to Church of St. Peter and St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of St. Peter and St. Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.