We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, retro and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Abel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Abel to your Saves list
Hostel Abel
ul. Jozefa 30, Krakow 31-056, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stylish, retro and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Situated in the Jewish quarters of Kazimierz, this hostel offers a great base for visiting Krakow's numerous cultural delights. Clean, with comfortable beds and wonderful views (from the third floor), very friendly staff this is an excellent value for money. Excellent buffet breakfast can be taken in the nearby hotel for approximately £4,00. Highly recommended for intrepid, budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your great review.
It is so encouraging to receive such kind comments from our guests.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My friend advised me this place.
I spent 3 nights in this very nice hostel.
The location is very good, easy walking distance to the Old Town.
The staff was very friendly and gave me useful information about tourist attractions.
I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate your review.
Thank you very much for your kindness and friendliness.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We originally booked the Abel Hostel for just 1 night in May, however after arriving at the property we decided to stay a further 2 nights because it was so nice. We've stayed in a number of hostels around the world and I have to say that the Abel was one of the best. Is it really a hostel?! The common areas are lovely, really nicely decorated and good kitchen facilities. The rooms are comfortable, good size and quiet. The location of the property is also good, it's in the Kazimierz Old Jewish District which is very nice, lots of small bars and restaurants on the hotels door step. The old town of Krakow with the Castle and nice churches etc... is only about 15 minutes walk so not bad at all.
Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Only saw my room which was good, I assume they are all of the same quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
It is great pleasure to read reviews like yours.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hostel is in Kazimierz, the quirky and characterful Jewish Quarter, which is a 20 minute walk away from the train station. The hostel itself is around 10 minutes walk away from the centre of Krakow, so perfectly located for access to all the tourist attractions, with the benefit of being in a more 'local' area of the city. The hostel was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hostel does not serve meals, however there are endless breakfast and dining options in close proximity. I was able to book tours to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines through the hostel, which was very useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness and quiet. I hope that you will visit our hostel again.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at Abel and had a great time with my friends. The room was clean and a good size. The staff was very friendly and happy to help us. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is going to Krakow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is good to know that our guests are satisfied with our services.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently went to Krakow with my friends. We stayed at Abel Hostel and it was perfect. The location was great. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was spotless, the towels and shower gel/shampoo were provided. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: On the top floor is best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our friends reserved this hotel due to location and limited availability of rooms at other hotels. Our room was located on the third floor and we had to walk up stairs to get there. The room had minimal furniture and the bathroom had a shower only Our room had three single beds with sleeping comforters for warmth. This is a moderately comfortable hotel with friendly people at the desk. It is located in the old Jewish quarter and within walking distance of most attractions in Kraków. The breakfast was quite good and serviced by the family members. However, it was overpriced and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata B, Manager at Hostel Abel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I kindly inform you that Hostel Abel has changed ownership and was renovated in 2013.
I hope you will visit us to see all improvements we have made.
Kind regards
Malgorzata Badocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#38 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#36 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#64 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#57 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#111 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Abel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Abel

Address: ul. Jozefa 30, Krakow 31-056, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Abel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Abel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.