We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemia

Alchemia
5 Estery St, Krakow 31-056, Poland (Kazimierz)
012 428 47 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 nightlife in Krakow
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I didn't get to hang out in many bars in Krakow because my stay was pretty short, but I'm really glad i got to check this one out. I'd say the decor is quite original and brings a real contribution to the atmosphere of the Kazimierz district. Friendly staff, nice music & good drinks. It would be a pity to miss it! Aaand you definitely have to check out the entrance to the smokers' lounge! :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Alchemia is in the Jewish quarter of Krakow, It's a pleasant place to sit inside or outside and the music has a good atmosphere. There are plenty of other bars in Krakow, not sure why this place is rated so highly as it's certainly nothing special. There is a really good vegetarian Kebab to be had opposite, the same place that sells the Zapiekanki and that was definitely worth trying for just £2.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a fun bar. The music was good, the decorations were eclectic and interesting, and the bar tenders spoke good English. Our beers were only $1.50 USD each (after the conversion). My raspberry beer was very good. I recommend stopping at the Endzior stall across the street afterwards for a delicious zapiekanki, which is a baguette pizza with various toppings.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Certainly not the No.1 bar in Krakow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is really an OK place and nothing to get excited about. Order beer or simple drinks as with anything else, its a bit of a gamble. It's a nice studenty place, with a flavour of old Krakow, but thats it. There are far better places in the same square, like Propaganda and Baroque I preferred.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Definitely visit Alchemia if you're in Krakow, especially if you're staying in Kazimierz. The atmosphere is unique and eclectic, and there is a great mix of people. Drinks are very reasonably priced. Bartenders speak great English, and their desserts are also delicious!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Alchemia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alchemia to your Saves list