We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wielopole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wielopole Hotel to your Saves list
Wielopole Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Wielopole 3, Krakow 31-072, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

This hotel is a quick 10-minute walk from the central train station which is also next to the Galeria Krakowska (mall) The hotel itself is in an old building with updated interior/amenities including elevator and double insulated windows. Staff is friendly and English speaking. The location is excellent, a short walk to old town, the castle, and to the trolleys (which we did not use) Internet access is available in the lobby. The Holiday Inn is directly across the street.

Booked 2 rooms which were not quite ready when we arrived but didn't have to wait too long. We were offered tea and cookies in the lobby while waiting. Rooms were small but clean, bathrooms were spotless. Our room was on the 4th floor with a small balcony and double French doors which opened so that you could step outside. AC did not work but rooms were fairly cool even though it was hot out all week. Rooms were not so quiet, it wasn't the lack of sound insulation, it was because the hallways are not carpeted so you will hear the echo of very footstep and doors slamming from other inconsiderate guests. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. No minibar or in-room safe, the lobby has a safe like most hotels though. Beds are firm and comfortable with decent linens, 2 complimentary bottles of water and chocolates in the room were a nice touch. Tiny TV (not so important to me but may be important to some)

Breakfast room/bar was in the basement below the lobby. They served all kinds of typical cold cuts, pastries, cereal, as well as eggs and sausage and was replenished often. Hotel is definitely recommended, good price, great staff, good location.

  • Liked — Location, great breakfast, inexpensive price, very clean.
  • Disliked — No carpet in hallways = noise. AC did not work.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    269
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
117
330
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Good size room on 4th floor looking straight at the Holiday Inn across the road. Very clean and great shower in decent size bathroom. Air conditioning which was very important in the hot weather. Only problem was the curtains which were far too thin so the room was virtually light from about 4a.m. Having read about this from a previous review we took eye masks so were able to overcome the issue.
Very good breakfast - would take issue with the reviewer who described it as average - heaven knows what he expected1
The location is superb with 3 of the major tourist areas some 10 minutes walk to each
Staff very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night stay and had a lovely time. We found the breakfasts very good - fruit, cereals, juices, cold platter and cakes. The staff are very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and bathrooms spotless. Beds OK & requested extra pillows.

The one negative was definitely the curtains as previously mentioned. I too was awoken at 4am by the sun streaming in. Please Wielopole, change these!

It was very warm when we were there and we had rooms on the 6th floor at the front. We relied on the air-con as we had read that it was noisy if the windows were left open. (My parents found that this was true.)

The hotel is brilliantly situated just 5 mintues walk from the fantastic Rynek. We would definitely stay again.

Krakow is a great place with so much happening all the time. We also were there for their 750th Anniversary celebrations - had no idea in advance! Wonderful!

We booked a taxi for the 4 of us from the airport - 70 zloty each way and good value in my opinion. Did a lot of walking - made very pleasant by the many parks.

The highlight had to be the Salt mines. Do pay the 10 zloty to take photos! Minibus just around the corner from Wielopole.

Very good food & generally good service with only 1 exception during the whole trip.

For dinner would recommend Pod Krzyzykiem - quirky decor, good food & service; Florinska - good food & service in more traditional surroundings & Kaweleria - good food in a lovely courtyard setting.

Numerous cafes serving good coffee & beer in pleasant surroundings.

  • Liked — Fantastic situation
  • Disliked — The useless curtains!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed in room 306 at the Wielopole over the weekend of Krakow's 750th anniversary (although you wouldn't have know it because their tourist info isn't exactly great). Our room was nice and quiet, as it was at the back of the buiding. The downside was that it overlooked an internal courtyard, absolutely covered in pigeon droppings and accompanied by constant bird 'cooing'. Our first morning started at 6.00 a.m. when a neighbour fired a bird scare gun. Our shower room was modern and clean. The beds were very comortable. Although it was 32 degrees over the weekend, we didn't need to use the air-con as the room was well insulated. The curtains were next to useless - the second layer didn't t even reach across the whole window because of the supporting beam in the way.

We made extensive use of the transport system. Train from the airport to Krakow Glowny was 4 zlothys (70p). A 72 hour transport ticket 25 zlotys (£4.50). The train to Wieliczka was 2.5 zlotys (45p) each way. We used the trams extensively, visiting Nowa Huta which was a leafy suburb rather than the urban sprawl I was expecting - a real eye opener! We enjoyed a walk up to the Kosciuszko Mound by way of the no 1 tram to Salwator. We didn't visit Auschwitz as we had heard stories of people treating it like a theme park rather than a memorial.

We found food and drink to be VERY cheap. The range of food available would put french and spanish cities to shame. We particularly enjoyed the CK Browar microbrewery on Podwale where lunch and 4 drinks came to 52 zlothys (£9.20). Also ate at the (slightly over-rated) Wierzynek restaurant at ten times the price. We were disappointed that, having expressly told us there was a strict dress-code, they were allowing customers wearing jeans in for dinner. It would have been quite entertaining to see them turned away!

All in all, we would recommend the hotel and Krakow without reservation - just bear in mind the hotel is NOT luxury, the breakfast is NOT wonderful, just average, but the location IS brilliant

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The pigeons
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

In my opinion, this Hotel offers absolutely excellent value for money.

Bearing in mind that it doesn't pretend to be a luxury hotel, it provides friendly and comfortable accommodation and is in a perfect location 5 minutes from the Rynek Glowny and no more than 10 minutes stroll through the Planty to Wawel.

Our bedroom was fine. Maybe the bed wasn't perfect, for some reason we had two single duvets instead of one double, but I really have no complaints. The breakfast room is very pleasant, and the breakfast itself was enjoyable.

The Hotel is about 10-15 minutes easy walk from the station. It's really easy to travel from the Airport to Krakow by train, and only costs 8 slottys. There's a free shuttle bus that stops right outside the terminal. Somehow we missed this and walked the 200m to the station.

I would thourougly recommend Wielopole. At about £30 per night B&B for a really nice comfortable, relaxed central hotel is not bad. In fact, I would say that it's 'just braw'!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
droitwich spa, england, uk.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

Stayed here from 11 to 14 May 2007. Group of three... booked a suite with twin beds, and a double.

Rooms were clean and a good size. Bathrooms were excellent, with very powerful shower.

Beds were awful. The twins were 2 x extremely slim beds with hard mattresses, and the double was just two slim twins pushed together.

Rooms had no blackout curtains. Just very cheap "net like" material, virtually transparent, so woke up at 4am to bright sunlight streaming into the room.

The weekend we were there was extremely hot, 30 degrees. Aircon and the fridge in the suite both decided to pack up.... concierge came up with a screwdriver, but told us he was unable to do anything, and that was that.

With windows open, room very noisy with noise from street below.

On a positive note, very good location, good breakfast, not bad value for money, but have stayed in better places.

Got train then taxi from airport to hotel, worked out cheap, but on return to airport, got hotel to arrange a taxi for us, which at 70 zloty was good value and very convenient.

All in all, Krakow is a fantastic place, would stay at this hotel again if nothing better was available.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in March 2007. We were a group of nine and the rooms were spacious enough to accommodate three persons per room (two twin beds and an extra cot in each). The rooms were well maintained and cleaned thoroughly each day. The bathroom was clean and modern but the shower was a little small although water pressure and hot water were fine. Breakfast was not included in our rate so we did not eat at the hotel during our stay.

The staff were pleasant and the place is quite secure - we came back one night at 3am to find them asleep in the lobby waiting for guests to return so they could unlock the door and let us in! There were also some nice little touches - free coffee and tea and little pastries/cakes in the lobby.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins walk to the main square and close to lots of good restaurants and bars/nightlife. We didn't organize our Auschwitz/salt mine tour through the hotel but they can arrange this for you which is convenient.

Overall, it is a pleasant place to stay at a good price. If you are looking for luxury and amenities, this is probably not suitable. But if you want well situated, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable cost, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wielopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wielopole Hotel

Address: ul. Wielopole 3, Krakow 31-072, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#17 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wielopole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Polish hospitality, European standard, comfort in the most elegant fashion, pleasant atmosphere and cordial staff – Wielopole in a discreet and successful way combines all these advantages and wins the recognition of customers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wielopole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wielopole Krakow
Wielopole Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wielopole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.