We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience in Krakow” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ul Jozefa 24, Krakow 31-056, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad experience in Krakow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel has a great location in the heart of the Jewish quarter . and that is the only good thing I can say about it.
Hotel look old dirty and neglected. Elevator isn't working and you need to carry your luggage to the 4th floor. No bell boy to help.
There is no owner in sight ( mysterious Mrs Monika) and the hotel is actually run by few students who don't care at all.
Hotel is very close to Krakow night scene there for noisy and lots of drunk people around.
do your self a favor and chose an other place to stay in wonderful Krakow.

Room Tip: No good room I can think of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
70
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FALKIRK, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent four nights in the hotel. Very good location in Jewish quarter surrounded by great restaurants and bars . 15 Mins walk to centre or three stops on trams No 10 ,8 or 13 . From Central bus or train station 5 stops on No 50 tram.
Rooms spacious and clean.Breakfast typical continental but with nice cold meats etc.
Ate in the restaurant one evening and had steak with all the trimmings ( and 10pc residents discount) for just over £6 .
Overall good location , friendly helpful staff .Good 3star hotel for easy access to all tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent four nights at the Astoria in Krakow. The location in the Jewish quarter is great. There are interesting very small arts and crafts shops around, and a wide selection of restaurants and cafes. It is also around the corner the Jewish quarter square (an old meat-market) which is ringed by great cafes and has a craft, food and bric-a-brac market going most days.

It's a bit of a walk to the main square of Krakow, but certainly a pleasant walk though interesting little areas. If you don't feel like walking there are little mini-tourist transporters available in the square and right out the front door of the hotel. We walked everywhere and only took a taxi once, coming back from the large shopping centre near the main Krakow train station.

The room was clean and serviced daily. Large comfortable European style beds with fluffy doonas, a good-size room with plenty of space for suitcases and a lovely hot strong shower. They recommend you do not drink the tap water and bottled water was available and replaced daily.

Staff were friendly and helpful. When I couldn't get a connection with the free internet access (not wi-fi) someone came up to the room and helped me get online. They were also very helpful with maps, tourist advice, booking transport to the airport and anything else we asked for. When we were there a large school group from Italy was also staying but the place was still sound-proof and staff made certain that the buffet breakfast trays were refilled regularly, despite being attacked by a large group of hungry teens.

Breakfasts were good and included hot dishes (scrambled eggs, sausages) as well as a full range of breads, cereal, juice, meats, and fruit. The real surprise was just how good the restaurant was. With so many options in the area we planned to try quite a few in our four days, but ended up having dinner three nights at the hotel. Can really recommend it.

Walking around the corner to the square we enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine (in October!) with coffee or drinks and watching the world go by. This would definitely be our hotel of choice if we returned to Krakow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have just returned from a great short break in Krakow, we were a group of seven mates on a weekend away. The hotel is well placed in the Jewish quarter, lots of bars, restaurants close by, local market behind hotel very lively with lots of different stalls. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Krakow and found this hotel ideal. It is very centrally placed in the Jewish Quarter making it easy to visit both the Old Town, Jewish district of Kazimierz and the ghetto area of Podgorski. Hotel itself is very clean and the breakfasts very good buffet style. The food is replenished regularly. The staff in both the reception and restaurant are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, and help with places to visit, ordering taxis etc. We did not eat here in the evenings, as you are spoilt for choice with Starka's a few steps away and Szara in the main square. For a quirky drink also visit "Once upon a time" bar at top of main square. Krakow is a beautiful city easy to reach and get around in. If we had a complaint it would be that all rooms have a shower only and the only bath is in the apartment but this is a small detraction.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 on the first floor at the back so we had no noise, but no view either. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, right in the Kazimierz area of Krakow, the Jewish Quarter. It is a short walk to get to the main square of Krakow as well.
This hotel is comfortable, the staff are very helpful, and the breakfast each morning is plentiful, and the coffee was excellent. Our room was comfortable and spacious, a good shower, good beds, everything we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we were in Krakow for the weekend. very nice and well-equipped hotel at a good price. very good food in the restaurant we recommend dumplings :). morning we can eat a delicious breakfast ... we recommend. Hotel very well located. everywhere is close to the old town and the many pubs in the surrounding area ............................

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Karmel
Karmel
#111 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Kazimierz
Secesja Hotel
Secesja Hotel
#118 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#36 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#62 of 248 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Leone
Aparthotel Leone
#49 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Spatz
Aparthotel Spatz
#44 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Ul Jozefa 24, Krakow 31-056, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.