We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki)

Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki)
Aleja Waszyngtona 1, Krakow 30-204, Poland
012 425-11-16
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 135 attractions in Krakow
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Erected by Cracovians in memory of Polish national leader Tadeusz Kosciuszko, a serpentine path leads to the top, approximately 326 meters (1,070 feet) above sea level, with a panoramic view of the Vistula River and the city.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We have chosen it as an off beat attraction to see the city's panoramic view. First of all you have to pay an entrance fee so we made sure with the guard that spoke broken English that view is clear since it was pretty cloudy. After we got to the top it was windy and you could barely see the Old Town. Tip: don't take taxi cab- you can get there by street car (Salwator)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was surprised that u need to pay for the entrance , in the end it's just a mound.
However, is very well presented: plan of the fort and history of the Mound; a few wax figure, a few battles with mats plan.
There is a coffee shop, you can buy a souvenir or a playground for children.
I really enjoyed it !!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best views in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We only found out about this thanks to the barman at our hotel. It doesn't seem to be well advertised. Our visit was well worth it. You can get a tram from the city centre to either Salwator or Rondo Grunwaldzski and then change to Bus No. 100 or 101 which will take you the Mound. The entrance fee to the mound was 11PLN

You have to walk to the top of the mound which I managed even with a dodgy knee. When you reach the top the views are excellent with a 360 degree panorama of Krakow. When you descend there are a two exhibitions about the history of the mound. We also used the rooftop cafe which was good with very reasonable prices. If you've got an afternoon free this is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to by tram. Then walk up the hill, or as i did catch the 100 bus as it was a very warm day.
Walking up mound is easy going and the views are well worth it. Also wax exhibition and coffee shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great views, worth the trip out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

To get to the Mound, we followed our guide books' recommended walk, starting at Salwator tram depot and walking just over a mile (uphill) through Zwierzyniec, a nice quiet district with some picturesque streets and greenery.
The Mound itself is pretty easy and quick to climb up, and gives very good views over the city. You have to pay to go up, but it's only around £2.
The cafe in the area didn't look impressive - we didn't buy anything from there.
To get back to Salwator we had planned to get the 100 bus from the Mound, yet this is only every hour, so we walked back instead - it's easier downhill though!
Recommended, but only if a nice few hours of weather can be guaranteed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kosciuszko's Mound (Kopiec Kosciuszki) to your Saves list