We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Senacki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Senacki to your Saves list
Hotel Senacki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grodzka 51, Krakow 31 - 001, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I spent a week at the Hotel Senacki in early October 2010 while on business in Krakow. I stayed in room 404, located at the back of the hotel overlooking Ul. Kanonicza.
Most of the reviews of this hotel have been extremely positive, so I feel a little odd writing anything but a glowing review. However I have to say that while my stay was perfectly fine, there were a couple of things that make me shy away from giving it 5 stars (I think I would realistically give it 3 1/2 stars).
First, I should mention that room 404 is located on a floor without elevator access. Not a big deal as the elevator does run to 3 and its then a short flight of stairs up to 4. The room itself was fine - certainly clean and comfortable, but not particularly interesting and not furnished as nicely as the rooms depicted on the hotel's website. The bathroom was perhaps the highlight of the room as it was almost as large as the bedroom area. The lobby of the hotel is extremely small and it didn't take more than 3 or 4 people to make it feel crowded. The hotel restaurant/cafe located next to the lobby looked a little dull and tired so I never ate there, however there are certainly lots of very good restaurants within a block or two. Breakfast was served in the cellar, which although nicely restored and updated was perhaps a little too cramped at times for the number of guests using it. The tables and chairs seemed to fill the space so that the guests had a hard time getting around to get to the food and drink. The actual breakfast itself was decent (cold meats, cheese, cereal, yogurts, etc), and the staff would make specialty coffees and egg dishes on request.
On the positive side, the location of the hotel is excellent (just across from the Church of Peter & Paul), and the old building has been tastefully restored. I should also point out that my interactions with staff during the week were always positive.
My main complaints really stem from a lack of good social areas - there aren't any at all - and the fact that my particular room was just a little too uninteresting compared to what I was expecting. I can't really attest to value for money since this was all paid for in advance by another party, however I gather from reading other reviews that the hotel is one of the better choices in terms of value in the old city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    115
    20
    3
    10
See reviews for
83
274
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights in Hotel Senacki. We have absolutely nothing to complain about the hotel!
Staff: very friendly, very helpful. We arrived late in the Friday night and the receptionist was very friendly, regardless of being late at night. The same is true for all the people who stayed at the reception during this period and the ladies in the restaurant at the breakfast time.
Room: very clean, very spacious, absolutely comfortable. We slept very, very well. It was cold, and the heater was on during the night, but for just enought time to heat the room and not become too hot.
Bathroom: spacious, clean, very well lighted. Hair dryer and toletries are offered by the hotel and the orage blossom body lotion is just fantastic.
Location: Situated in one of the main streets of the Old Town, two minutes away from Rynek Glowny and about ten minutes walking from the main train station. Also walking distance from Wawel Castle and the Jewish Quarter.
Food: all you could expect from a hotel breakfast. Bread, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruits, cereal and various options of hot food, such as scrambbled eggs and pancakes. All freshly cooked to order.
One of the best hotels, if not the best hotel we ever stayed in all our trips.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel was wonderful, staff were polite and helpful and happy to provide information or make reservations for us. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the restroom modern and well stocked. No AC in our room but there was a fan provided and with the windows open during the night the noise wasnt excessive, I liked hearing the clip clop of the tour buggy horses going by. The hotel is perfectly central to everything you could want to see in downtown and we just loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have just returned from the Hotel Senacki in Poland after a three night stay. Some reviews left me wondering actually what I had booked and what I was going to find! Let me tell you, what I did find was something just very special and nothing like some reviewers have stated. It had a really welcoming receptionist who made me feel at ease with check in and I had the most wonderful room on the top floor. A very clean and modern hotel and the breakfast was more than enough to fill you for the day. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough as it was located just a stone's throw from the main square ( Ryneck Glowny) making access to everywhere just brilliant. If you choose one hotel to stay at in Krakow please make this your choice, I can promise you that you will not be left feeling dissappointed. Well done Hotel Senacki you did a superb job and I will be back again to stay with you. Thanks for a great 3 days. Martin

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Senacki is all you could want from a tourist hotel; fabulous location - just five minutes' walk from the main square - and friendly, helpful staff. Free Wifi in the lobby, too.

The breakfast was very good (and all included) and overall staying there was a pleasure.

Word of advice though - not all the rooms have air-conditioning, so if you're there in the summer ensure you book one which does - Krakow gets HOT! If you fancy a little bit of extra glam to your stay, ask to book room 101 or 201, both of which are suites. You pay the same rate for them as for any other.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Senacki for two nights and were very satisfied with the experience. The hotel is well located, close to both the Old Town and Wawel castle. It is clean and provides very good value for the rates charged. The staff are polite and helpful, and you generally get a sense of professionalism and quality as soon as you approach its very beautiful front facade. We were particularly impressed by the modern breakfast room, located in the cool cavernous cellar within the original foundations of the building.

If we had to find a fault (and only "if"), it would be with the room decour and furnishings, which are a little "tired looking" and could use a refresh. But all in all, this hotel is a great choice for anyone planning a trip to Krakow.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel has a perfect location AND offers breakfast included in the price, all for a reasonable amount of money. The room is totally fine, not a suite or suitable for honeymooners, but more than good enough for everyone else. It lies in the heart of the old town with view to a beautiful old church. The staff was nice and polite, and frankly, I have nothing bad to say about this place. Go for it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Senacki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senacki

Address: Grodzka 51, Krakow 31 - 001, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#14 Family Hotel in Krakow
#36 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Senacki 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Senacki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senacki Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Senacki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.