We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture at a great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Chamber Orchestra

Royal Chamber Orchestra
Rynek Glowny | Kosciol Sw. Wojciecha, Krakow, Poland
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 202 Activities in Krakow
Type: Symphonies, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Concerts performed seven days a week at St. Adelbert's church, the oldest church in on Krakow, by four graduates of the Krakow Academy of Music.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Culture at a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to see a string quartet from the Royal Chamber Orchestra perform in St Adalbert's church located in the main square. It is only a very small church but has great acoustics.
This is a great opportunity to see professional musicians perform live in unusual surroundings.
It only cost 65 pln each and lasted about 1 hour.
Music from, Bach, Mozart, Vivaldi, Chopin and others.
Wrap up warm in the winter months as it was freezing in the church.
We were promised a glass of wine afterwards but for some reason this never materialised. However, not to worry, the performance was brilliant

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous you must go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

St Peter and Paul church for one hour several nights a week for about ten quid, we loved it. Pay on arrival and wrap up the church is fab but its freezing in December.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I heard this orchestra in the the small cathedral(forgot its name :\) in the market square area. Beautiful experience. There were 4 violinists and they played various symphonies. Focus that night was on Tchaikovsky.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tremendously entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You never know what to expect when you get one of the leaflets pushed into your hands. We opted for the Royal Chamber Orchestra and were not disappointed. The church of St Adalbert is nothing to write home about and the tiny space was crammed with the audience. However, the performace was of the highest quality and the unusual take on some of the pieces was breathtaking. Highly recommended. You even get a free glass of wine!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adderbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A rare virtuoso performance at St. Adalbert's.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It' so rare to see such a flawless inspired performance overflowing with so much talent, we went back to see it a second show the following night. There were no "bad" seats being very intimate in the tiny chapel. My wife and I had the good fortune to be seated at the front, close enough to touch the performers.The lead violinist, Kamil Skicki, Is an obvious virtuoso who passionately executed the classics so effortlessly and sympathetically. Even challenging pieces such as Vivaldi's Summertime from Le Quattro Stagnioni and Albinoni's Adagio flowed from the strings while selections from Gershwin, Rossini, and Brahms were playfully treated with a more ad lib approach. I shook his hand after the performance and said he really was "Mr. Rock & Roll". He smiled and said, "sometimes". Afterward, we were all invited to a nearby bistro for a free glass of wine. Without doubt, one of the highlights of our trip

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Chamber Orchestra also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Royal Chamber Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Chamber Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.