We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour from the main square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University

The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University
ul. Kopernika 27, Krakow 31-501, Poland
+48 (012) 421 26 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 135 attractions in Krakow
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A beatiful and informative Botanical Gardens, a short walk from Old Town
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Worth a detour from the main square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Even though it was early October there was still a lot to see in the garden. Everything was labelled well and there was an extensive selection of plants to view. It was a lovely way to depend an hour on a warm, sunny Autumn afternoon away from the busy main square. We also saw two sets of newly weds having their official wedding photos taken. What a great idea in such a wonderful location. Very pleased we made the effort to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of Krakov's disappointments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Being gardeners this was high on our list to visit. It was perhaps not a great time of year to visit or the garden is being redeveloped. It was a bit run down/the museum was closing when we arrived although the glasshouse was pretty good. Would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful near the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a very hot Friday we walked to the gardens. They are not well signposted - a makeshift sign on the right was all there was. The gardens are split into distinct areas i.e. arboretum, medicinal, collections. The ice-cream vendor at the far end was very welcome. Regrettably the glasshouses are not open on Fridays. Gardens are very well maintained but toilets a bit below par.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulksmills, Ireland
1 review
“Definitely worth finding this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It would definitely be worth your time trying to find this little gem in Krakow, it is only a short distance from the centre but is not too crowded with tourist so you can relax and check out the amazing glasshouses

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This one takes you by suprise😊”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We walked from the Stare Miasto, beautiful walk, not far.
This place takes you by surprise, it is unpretentious, but after you enter you will be amazed at the beauty and tranquility here.
I am so happy we came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University to your Saves list