We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful near the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University

The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University
ul. Kopernika 27, Krakow 31-501, Poland
+48 (012) 421 26 20
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$29*
and up
Sightseeing Bike Tour of Krakow
Ranked #60 of 194 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beatiful and informative Botanical Gardens, a short walk from Old Town
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Peaceful near the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a very hot Friday we walked to the gardens. They are not well signposted - a makeshift sign on the right was all there was. The gardens are split into distinct areas i.e. arboretum, medicinal, collections. The ice-cream vendor at the far end was very welcome. Regrettably the glasshouses are not open on Fridays. Gardens are very well maintained but toilets a bit below par.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Foulksmills, Ireland
1 review
“Definitely worth finding this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It would definitely be worth your time trying to find this little gem in Krakow, it is only a short distance from the centre but is not too crowded with tourist so you can relax and check out the amazing glasshouses

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This one takes you by suprise😊”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We walked from the Stare Miasto, beautiful walk, not far.
This place takes you by surprise, it is unpretentious, but after you enter you will be amazed at the beauty and tranquility here.
I am so happy we came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden in the mid of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you have some free time and you are tired just go there and relax. The garden is most beautiful in spring time, when magnolia trees are full of flowers. There is pond, big green house with tropical flowers and trees. Students are coming there to study books in calm atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A lot more there than you first expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Starting in the old town square, walk to the left of St Mary's Church and keep going straight on for about 15 minutes until you reach the Astronomical Observatory on the right hand side. The entrance is to the far right after you go in through the front gate of the Observatory - we walked straight past on our first attempt at finding the garden but although it looks like you're walking into the Observatory, you really are in the right place!! We walked in expecting a lot from the guide book pictures and I have to confess I was initially disappointed. It looked relatively small and I didn't think it was worth the time out of our trip for a visit. As we walked down through the Beech Woods, then found the Palmeria, and then realised how big it actually was and started finding new areas, then a Japanese Garden etc I forgot all about my initial disappointment and really enjoyed the visit. There was so much more than I initially thought, and every time we thought that was it, we turned a corner and found another bit. We passed an entire afternoon in the gardens, with so many ponds and plants and trees and flowers - plus both hot houses were wonderful. Certainly worth a visit, and don't be put off by the initial appearance of being small - it's anything but!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.