We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth finding this little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University

The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University
ul. Kopernika 27, Krakow 31-501, Poland
+48 (012) 421 26 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 136 attractions in Krakow
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A beatiful and informative Botanical Gardens, a short walk from Old Town
Foulksmills, Ireland
1 review
“Definitely worth finding this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It would definitely be worth your time trying to find this little gem in Krakow, it is only a short distance from the centre but is not too crowded with tourist so you can relax and check out the amazing glasshouses

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This one takes you by suprise😊”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We walked from the Stare Miasto, beautiful walk, not far.
This place takes you by surprise, it is unpretentious, but after you enter you will be amazed at the beauty and tranquility here.
I am so happy we came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden in the mid of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you have some free time and you are tired just go there and relax. The garden is most beautiful in spring time, when magnolia trees are full of flowers. There is pond, big green house with tropical flowers and trees. Students are coming there to study books in calm atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A lot more there than you first expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Starting in the old town square, walk to the left of St Mary's Church and keep going straight on for about 15 minutes until you reach the Astronomical Observatory on the right hand side. The entrance is to the far right after you go in through the front gate of the Observatory - we walked straight past on our first attempt at finding the garden but although it looks like you're walking into the Observatory, you really are in the right place!! We walked in expecting a lot from the guide book pictures and I have to confess I was initially disappointed. It looked relatively small and I didn't think it was worth the time out of our trip for a visit. As we walked down through the Beech Woods, then found the Palmeria, and then realised how big it actually was and started finding new areas, then a Japanese Garden etc I forgot all about my initial disappointment and really enjoyed the visit. There was so much more than I initially thought, and every time we thought that was it, we turned a corner and found another bit. We passed an entire afternoon in the gardens, with so many ponds and plants and trees and flowers - plus both hot houses were wonderful. Certainly worth a visit, and don't be put off by the initial appearance of being small - it's anything but!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Choose you visit carefully.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Last time I came here was in May 2012 but it is much better in the height of summer when most of the flowers are in their glory (especially the traditional Polish garden). There was still plenty to admire in May and the greenhouses are fascinating with elephant lilies and cactuses. Nothing you won't find in most greenhouses but still a peaceful change to the vodkas!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University to your Saves list