We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracow Free Tours

Cracow Free Tours
St. Mary's Church | Main Market Square, Krakow 31-021, Poland (Formerly Cracow Free Walking Tours)
+48 606 808 911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Food & Drink in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The OLD TOWN Free Tour - 10.30 am every day.The JEWISH QUARTER and the GHETTO Free Tour - 2 pm every day. The COMMUNIST KRAKOW Nowa Huta Paid Tour - 10.30 am every Sunday (1 Apr - 31 Oct) and at 2 pm every Wednesday (1 Jul-31 Aug). CASCO ANTIGUO tour gratis - 10.00 cada dia KAZIMIERZ BARRIO JUDIO tour gratis - 14.00 cada dia. For more free walking tours please, check our website. We also can arrange a private tour for you with our guide. All tours start in front of St. Mary's (Mariacki) Church at the Main Market Square. Look for our RED sign.Full of knowledge entertaining walks about history, architecture and people of Krakow with licensed local guides. We are locals so you can ask us any question about our city. No booking, just come to the meeting place and join us. We work all year round in every weather.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you are going to visit the Jewish Quarter, a guide is recommended. There's so much to be told about this area. You can walk through the Jewish Quarter and the ghetto, but only a knowledgeable guide can fill in the gaps between what is there today and what was there in the past and what has happened in the past. We took the free walking tour from St Mary's at 2:00pm. Our guide, Ella lived in Krakow her whole life. She speaks good English and has a wealth of information. She is very friendly and can answer all your questions. The tour is free but a tip is requested. We had no trouble leaving a tip as the tour was well worth it. A lot of walking - wear comfortable shoes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    53
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Fabulous Cracow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm the sort of traveler that will happily wonder around a city but my sister loves to have someone tell her all about where she is and what's interesting about just about everything. With this in mind the hostel we stayed in told us about Cracow Free Walking Tour and I am very pleased they did. The guide we had was very knowledgeable with a great sense of humor - happy to add a lighter side to the tour. We went on the morning tour around Cracow and then the Jewish tour in the afternoon of the same day. To our job we had the same lovely guide. I'd happily recommend these tours to anyone travelling in Fabulous Cracow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good to get your bearings in Cracow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We did the Jewish Quarter tour. It covered a lot of ground (comfy shoes essential) and we did get a basic orientation of the area. We didn't go in to any of the synagogues, so you would need to revisit if you wanted to. We finished by the Schindler factory which was good as we went to visit and got a taxi back to our hotel. Group was quite large and it was sometimes hard to hear. If you have plenty of time in Cracow, then this is worth doing. If time is tight, a smaller tour tailored to your needs would be better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nowa Huta. What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The communists turned what was once rich agricultural land into a planned urban city complete with modern apartments, stores, parks, and lakes all joined by wide tree-line streets. Included in the design were air-raid shelters complete with gas masks. This was meant to be an industrial center populated by workers at the biggest steel mill in Poland. I was surprised at the beauty of the city. I’ve seen the ugly and cheaply constructed communist built apartment complexes in other Eastern European countries and, obviously, the planners of Nowa Huta were proud of their architectural designs: a mix of the Renaissance style with Soviet Realism . My tour guide was Anna Hojwa, a native of Nowa Huta, who was able to bring the historical significance to life. If you are tired of touristy element of Krakow, don’t hesitate to visit this city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We did both tours, The Old Town in the morning & the Jewish Quarter in the afternoon on 9th October.
We had the same guide for both tours, she was very good. As she was born in Krakow she had a lot of very knowledgeable information to tell. Things we would not have known had we done this on our own. As it is a free walking tour you just tip the guides whatever you feel is adequate. Have already recommended this to friends in the coming months.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracow Free Tours also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Cracow Free Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracow Free Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.