We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sympozjum Hotel to your Saves list
Sympozjum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Sympozjum for 2 nights starting the 22nd Nov 2012 as a couple. The hotel really is fantastic...
Location is a bit out of town and as we were only there 2 days we didn't use the tram service as we wanted to get lots done in little time. You can get taxis from the huge tesco right across the road or the hotel will order you one. They cost between 20-25 Zlotys to the market square, it's always best to base yourself from here, plus there's a lovely bar here with heated outside heating which was fab were we paid £2.30 a pint! Amazing price for the location. Paying to get into the main city wasn't a problem for us at all it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle.
The rooms were nice and big and probably the comfiest bed I've ever slept in abroad. The hotel room had everything you could possibly need for the amount of time you'll be in it! Shower but no bath, again not a problem, body wash and shampoo, hair dryer, safe, shower cap and even a sewing kit all provided.
I wouldn't rate the food in the hotel, I do always like to try the local cuisine but if your not a fan of pork or fish the food isn't for you! Even putting salmon in spaghetti bolognese, yes they like their fish!
The hotel also offers fantastic excursion prices and again out of convenience we booked a day trip to Auschwitz with them including the entry fee, transportation to Auschwitz and back and a guide £25pp and it was worth every penny and more, it's 100% well worth doing.
We also did Oskar Schindlers factory which again was brill and cost 17 zlotys pp and 25 zlotys from market square and back.
Overall the hotel and Kraków is amazing and I would highly recommend! Don't hesitate to message me If you have any questions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    116
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
117
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Easy tram ride to centre - once you have worked out the system. Hotel has good size rooms, well maintained although brochure guarantee of 'sheets changed daily' didn't happen. TV not working throughout hotel during the 5 days we stayed, and as it was time of USA elections found being cut off from the reporting frustrating. Had 2 hours of persistent nuisance telephone calls to room late one night, security guard resolved them, however, no acknowledgement or apology from management and a ruined night's sleep. English spoken at reception, but staff not particularly friendly. Dining room was different, staff accommodating and friendly, food there at night was excellent and well presented and prices compared favourably to those in a UK hotel. Buffet breakfast was varied and fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Breakfast was the usual buffet type which is standard in many hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe. Room was very clean and maid service every day.
Hotel is not in the centre but a 10 to 15 minute tram ride takes you to there. I would stay there again as I think it was very good value for the money.
We had a meal there when we arrived. The quality of the food was very good and compared to prices we paid in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. Rooms are quite large and bathrooms are very modern. TV is from the 90's, no LCD's here. The walls bounce a bit when the person in the next room slams the door. You do need to catch a tram into the centre which takes about 15-20 mins. Breakfasts are good for continental. Overall good value for money and would recommend it if you don't mind the trip into the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stopped here on a groupon deal for three nights whilst we saw the sites of Krakow.
Only about 15 mins from the airport.
Checkin was quick , porter took our bags to the room which was spacious , quiet ,and clean .
We ate here one evening the food was very good as was breakfast which is a continental buffet affair.Taxi ride to the market square was 15 mins and cost £6 each way.
Great value would stay here again

Room Tip: Stayz restaurant in market square was brilliant....try the famous fish soup....half a bowl is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The bus service to the hotel was about £1 each ,with one change(bus 292 then 194,two zones pass for one hour) ,the hotel seemed in the middle of nowhere but with the bonus of a huge tescos nearby , but it was only a few minutes from the centre by the trams outside the hotel.
We were given a room with really worn furniture and bedding ,we complained and the next room was fairly tired ,but much better.they dealt with the complaint immediately and i can say that the staff were polite and helpful ,with internet cable loans(free wired internet in rooms) and euro plugs too.we had only paid £200 each for the whole easyjet holiday including flights(and breakfast) for 3 nights and in reality we were happy with it as it was a good base.it has a small swimming pool and tepid jaccuzi. the staff booked a salt mine visit that i hadnt managed to book before we arrived ,and within hours of arriving we were on our way.I recommend visiting the salt mines yourself(much cheaper) and picking up the main tours by the sheraton in town ,to avoid an hour round trip picking up at other hotels.If you want a cheap hotel,this one will do(it claims to be 4 star!) it may have been once....

Room Tip: the area around has no views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is staffed with a very helpful reception. We had two standard rooms which were spacious, one of them was suitable for a disabled person. Although tea making facilities are not available in the standard rooms when I asked about it they sent a kettle with enough cups and saucers for all of us to one of the rooms. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good, with excellent service. The breakfasts were plentiful and the food was fresh. The hotel itself was conveniently located near a huge Tesco and a tram stops for a number 12 or 18 into the centre. You can buy the tickets from a machine at the stop. We found the no. 18 most convienient you can stay on to Wawel or if you want to go to the old square get off at Plac Wszystkich Swietych. Be sure to visit the Salt Mines, truly a wonder, if you go to the Train Station, which is next to a huge shopping Mall, look across the road and behind some wire fencing you will see some white mini buses, you can get one of these to the Salt Mines. The best restaurant we found was Gruzinskie Chaczapur, which is just off the main square on the road down to Wawel on the right hand side. Also try the delicious ice creams from a booth just a bit further down the road. The hotel had a small swimming pool, the only downside was that it had a tide mark around it and the jacuzzi did not smell fresh,

Room Tip: We found reception very helpful, I emailed them at short notice and told them that my husband had ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Address: Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#20 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#35 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sympozjum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.