We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sympozjum Hotel to your Saves list
Sympozjum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the best value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Helpful staff, very well situated from the main atractions of Krakow, altough you'll be confused in how to get inside of the hotel parking because there are some city infrastructure repairs in the area. Rooms are very clean,bathrooms also. Breakfast is also very good and diverse.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    116
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
117
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Firstly I think it is important to note the trams have just been re-routed and it is no longer possible to get the tram direct to Tesco. We took very helpful information from previous reviews and took train from the airport (turn right out of airport, past bus stops, just a stop, not station, 10 zloty each) then the 19 tram (go up the escalator to Galeria Shopping Centre, outside then trams going in left hand direction). We went too far on the tram, because of the re-route (happening now, still grateful to previous reviewers, they were not to know) we should have got off at a little terminus and then a short bus ride. Having said this to return bus 124 takes you nearly not quite to the train and bus station, the last stop is just before the Galeria, you just need to go under the subway.

We also took the 494 bus into town a few times as there is a stop near the castle. The people are lovely, they help you with directions, ticket machines without you even asking! We did find ourselves staying in the town for dinner each evening although we would have preferred to freshen up as it wasn't worth the bus journey back to the hotel and back.

Now the hotel, I do not usually book hotels out of town anymore but was impressed by the many favourable reviews on TA, sadly it didn't quite reach expectation. As you approach the sign is damaged which as a first impression does not bode well. I would say that the guy who usually stood in the lobby (manager?) bent over backwards at all times to help, even suggesting he fetch 2 umbrellas when it rained. Room was comfortable but a little dated, my husband did not like the fact the double room had 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single quilts although personally I slept like a log after all the walking we did. Breakfast not the best I have had, small selection of hot food, fruit mainly tinned and quite loud radio playing annoying obscure pop songs. I think the Hotel is used for companies such as Tesco and they have meetings there.

Now Krakow - absolutely loved it, the town is quite compact like Prague so easy to "do", however as we visited the Salt Mines (wonderful, especially the chapel) and Auschwitz (obviously a sombre and pensive day) taking up the best part of 2 days we really want to go back as there is so much to see. The trips we actually did ourselves by bus, quite easy and saved a fortune. You can get a bus outside the Sheraton Hotel that goes to the Salt Mines (about half hour journey) and there are regular buses from the bus station (behind the train station) to Auschwitz, takes an hour and half but no stops and the countryside is lovely.

There is an old stately looking hotel near the castle with a conservatory restaurant on the left hand side, we were drawn by the musicians with an accordian and the atmosphere, the portions were huge and very reasonable, the home made lemon vodka mind blowing! We also had an excellent meal at Pod Baranem just round the corner. The smalec (complimentary dripping!) was delicious, also wild mushroom soup in a bread bowl.

To summise we will return to Krakow but to a more central hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent hotel with good facility's & pleasant staff.
Short walking distance to tram stop for centre, next to massive 24hr tesco store.( 5 Min walk )
Decent Rooms very comfortable & clean, Quiet location with the added bonus of a great selection of food at breakfast, hot food, cereal, bread, pastries, fruit & yoghurts, ham & cheese.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Bedroom was large, very clean and very quiet. To get tea and coffee making facilities you would have to upgrade. We did not think it was worth the extra money to get this, plus robes and a taxi into town. We jumped on the no 19 tram at end of the road. You are supposed to pay 1.80 zl and get ticket then validate ticket but no proper english instructions so ended up with a free tram into town! Very large Tesco across the road to get your extras
Swimming pool is very small and the changing room is big enough for 1 person.
Would definately stay at this hotel again as we got a bargain for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

very good hotel.good service and clean rooms.helpfull staff thank you everything

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Booked this hotel based on recommendations on here.

Was not let down in anyway. We arrived at 11am, and within 30mins they had our room ready, depsite there being a 2pm check-in.

We paid for an executive room, so this gave us extra's like bathrobes, tea/coffee facilities, a fruit/pastry platter on arrival, to name a few.

As others have mentioned, there ia a 24 hour TESCO supermarket just down the road (10min walk), which has amazing choice of foods at very good prices. There are also a few fast food places in the building too.

A futher 5 mins down the road takes you to the Tram & Bus routes. Getting the 19 will take you to the old town in about 15/20 mins. 2.5 Zloty is the cost. Make sure you have coins (the hotel will change notes for you!). On the return journey there are ticket machines by most stops in the centre.

The hotel buffet breakfast was excellent, with choice of cereals, breads, vegetables, cold meats, warm sausage/bacon/mushrooms/eggs, and fruit juices etc. An excellent start to the day.

We never ate in the restaurant on an evening, but the prices were very good, with main courses from £4-£5.

Hotel SPA swimming pool is small, but adequate to burn a few calories off. Hot tub also poolside.

Reception staff were very helpful and always went out of their way to help.

We booked airport transfers via the hotel at a cost of 80 Zloty (£18). W knew the train into Krakow and then the tram to the hotel would have been cheaper, but 20mins door to door meant we could just get on with our short break.

All in all a very nice break at the Sympozjum, and we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

The staff were friendly, helpful and polite, we even had someone take our bags to our room. The rooms are clean and well stocked with soaps, shampoo, hair drier, towels, robes, slippers, mini bar but no tea/ coffee making fascilities in the room. There was a good selection offered for breakfast but unfortunately we never did get back to have an evening meal. Opposite the hotel there is a huge Tescos centre which is a helpful landmark (as well as being good for drinks, snacks and tram/bus tickets).It is a 20 minute tram ride into the centre of Krakow and the bus and tram stops are on the other side of the Tesco car park and the number 19 tram takes you straight to the train staion (where you can get trains to the salt mines and Auschwitz.) The hotel also offers trips but we prefer to do it ourselves. I would definately go back to Krakow and stay at this hotel again.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a pleasant and memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Address: Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#19 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#35 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sympozjum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.