We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Krakow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globtroter Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Globtroter Guest House to your Saves list
Globtroter Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Plac Szczepanski 7, Krakow 31-011, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 115 Krakow B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Krakow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Krakow. It is two blocks off the stunning Main Market Square in a little alcove off the street. It has a quiet balcony overlooking a small garden that you can relax in after a long day of walking. Room and bathroom were clean, Peter at the front desk was always helpful with advice and directions, and there is a car park about 10 minutes away if you’re driving. And for such a central location, the price was right – this is where I’ll be staying when I return.

Room Tip: Upper floor is nicer and quieter, but of course there are more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    177
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
68
204
106
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Tucked behind shops and restaurants on Plac Szczepanski, all the rooms look out onto a peaceful courtyard. The room was comfortable and the staff informative and friendly. No breakfasts are served, but there are several places to get a bite to eat on the Plac or nearby. Easy walk to main square and the train and bus stations. Actually, we walked everywhere, even to the Jewish quarter though buses were available. Laundry service was much appreciated.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed in this little guest house many times, and I have to say that when I book a trip to Krakow it is the easiest decision I make as to where to stay. I get exactly what I want, a nice central location, a clean warm (or cool) room, very friendly staff, the ability to come and go as I choose and a very relaxed atmosphere. 5 stars from me.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was the third time we had stayed at the Globtroter - this time we brought friends! We received a discount as this was a repeat visit, which we thought was a fantastic way to reward loyal customers. We had told our friends about how great the Globtroter was, but I truly don't think they believed us until they were there to experience it for themselves! The guesthouse shares an entrance with a grotty nightclub, this seems a bit misleading at first (indeed the first time we stayed we wondered what we had got ourselves into!) but once you enter the (securely locked) entrance to the guesthouse garden all worries vanish. A beautiful garden, clean rooms, friendly staff and a fabulous location for an extremely competitive price - what more could you want?! Our friends loved our trip to Krakow and agreed that the Globtroter was the perfect place to stay. A special thank you to PETER, who we saw most of during our trip, for his help with directions and his great skills in customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The bed linen and other room furnishings are a little tired and it didn't feel as clean as some of the other budget accommodation on this holiday, but overall Globtroter was good value. Fantastic central location. Lovely, helpful staff. We had a room with four single beds, and the layout of the room was great. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel suited our needs almost perfectly. The location was in the old town, but on a quiet square. Very picturesque location. It was a short walk to the train station and the main market square.

The staff were all very helpful and spoke very good English. They helped us with advice on how to get to the Salt Mines by public transport, how to get to the airport (how much to pay for a taxi, how to get there by bus and train if needed), they lent us an iron and ironing board and a fan because the room was very hot.

The room was clean and larger than many we had in Europe. My party of two couples had two rooms (each with their own ensuite) with an adjoining foyer with a couch, table and chairs and coffee facilities. This suited us perfectly. The wifi worked almost all the time.

In terms of negatives, the outdoor areas of a few bars/restaurants side up to the hotel so there was a bit of noise some nights. This is coming from a very light sleeper though and I still had an adequate night's sleep. It was also about 36 degrees celcius and humid while we were in town. There wasn't any cooling or airflow to cool the room down so it got a bit hot and stuffy. But as I said the reception were happy to lend us a fan.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends, and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what our family of four needed. It was close and easy walking distance to the square and all the great restaurants and most of the attractions. It was clean, comfortable and had a very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. It was also a good value. We booked it after reading about it in the Rick Steves book on Poland. We got there early after taking the night train from Prague to Krakow and they got us into our room quite early. I do not have a negative thing to say about the location, the facilities or the staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globtroter Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globtroter Guest House

Address: Plac Szczepanski 7, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Globtroter Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Globtroter is located in a quiet courtyard in The Heart of The Old Town-80 yds from The Main Square. Our friendly, multi-lingual staff will do their utmost to make you feel that our home is your home. We provide you with comfortable rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, TV and telephone. Internet access and safe is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Globtroter Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globtroter Guest House Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globtroter Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.