We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rakowicki Cemetery

Rakowicki Cemetery
Rakowicka, 42, Krakow 31-511, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 119 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The parents and older brother of Pope John Paul II rest in peace at this centuries-old cemetery.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to see the Commonwealth graves but got caught in a thunderstorm. Sheltered in the main cemetery. What a place. The family tombs are just mind blowing. You feel as if you are on the set of a horror movie. Loads of red squirrels though!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Anyone going to Krakow should try to make it to Rakowicki Cemetary. We visited in early September and the weather was cool with the leaves falling from the trees. All of the graves were covered in fresh flowers and lanterns with candles burning - it was beautiful, peaceful, and magical. We went in the evening and felt so moved by the experience that we went back the next morning. Do not miss this place - it is an easy 20 minute walk from the central square.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were lucky enough to visit here on All Saints Day. Went in the evening and every grave had one or more candles on it. Most had several, some of the main graves, hundreds. Incense everywhere, magical. A real highlight of our trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All Saints Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A ;large Cemetery with very old but well maintained tombs. I went on All Saints day as this is when people leave flowers and lighted candles on the graves of their loved ones. I've never seen so many people in a cemetery it was very busy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited on November 3rd, tow days after the national holiday when all Poles visit their family graves. The graveyard was covered in flowers and night lights on every single grave. In particular, we visited the grave of the Wojtyla family, John Paul's parents.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rakowicki Cemetery also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Rakowicki Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rakowicki Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.