We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just interesting...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish District (Kazimierz)

Jewish District (Kazimierz)
Szeroka 24, Krakow 30-527, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$38*
and up
Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #21 of 130 Attractions in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic walking areas, Other, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sizable Jewish population of Krakow moved to this district at the end of the fifteenth century, which served as the main cultural center of the Polish Jewry for centuries.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Just interesting...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

May be I was unlucky. The site was undergoing repairs. Despite some nice little restaurants isn't a wonder . I was told that it was more a place for nightlife than to a historic or cultural visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    759
    289
    79
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A walk in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A pleasant place to explore on foot, taking in the atmosphere of this lovely area and putting some of the contexts onto history presented elsewhere in museums.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dormagen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Active”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Busy, busy, busy, again this part of the town is vibrant, cafes, synogoges, the history of Krakow to be seen. Read about the area before you go and understand it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton, ma
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“I was quite surprised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When I traveled to the Jewish district, which I was told it had many synagogues still operating. I was in for a surprise, as the area was rundown, but that was what I felt about the entire city. Since it was over 70 years since world war II I. would've thought that this area would have been revived. The people seemed happy enough but then they are no longer under communism and this could be the reason. I would recommend going to the city but do not expect to see a 21st-century village.
Under communist regime, everything was gray and dark, and the city seems to still be in it. . The inside of their homes, maybe elegant, but the outside of the buildings need to be updated in my opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“historical charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For me, the best part of the city. Many areas still untouched by modern-day life....and, to be honest, all the better for it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish District (Kazimierz) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Jewish District (Kazimierz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish District (Kazimierz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.