We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk in history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish District (Kazimierz)

Jewish District (Kazimierz)
Szeroka 24, Krakow 30-527, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$38*
and up
Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #19 of 124 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Sights & Landmarks, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sizable Jewish population of Krakow moved to this district at the end of the fifteenth century, which served as the main cultural center of the Polish Jewry for centuries.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A walk in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A pleasant place to explore on foot, taking in the atmosphere of this lovely area and putting some of the contexts onto history presented elsewhere in museums.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,074
    730
    276
    77
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dormagen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Active”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Busy, busy, busy, again this part of the town is vibrant, cafes, synogoges, the history of Krakow to be seen. Read about the area before you go and understand it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton, ma
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“I was quite surprised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When I traveled to the Jewish district, which I was told it had many synagogues still operating. I was in for a surprise, as the area was rundown, but that was what I felt about the entire city. Since it was over 70 years since world war II I. would've thought that this area would have been revived. The people seemed happy enough but then they are no longer under communism and this could be the reason. I would recommend going to the city but do not expect to see a 21st-century village.
Under communist regime, everything was gray and dark, and the city seems to still be in it. . The inside of their homes, maybe elegant, but the outside of the buildings need to be updated in my opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“historical charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For me, the best part of the city. Many areas still untouched by modern-day life....and, to be honest, all the better for it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bytom, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly significant phenomenon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Jewish District of Krakow - Kazimierz has a deeper meaning and implications than it seems at the first sight. It has a psychological, sociological and historical, simply a cultural significance. There are people in contemporary Poland who openly admit knowing nothing or little about Judaism. To understad this phenomenon one would need to study extensively history after 1945 in Poland. We need now to educate people, Europeans in general, about the Jewish contribution to the European culture in general and Polish culture in particular. In the past there were cases such as the one of a Prague writer Otto Weininger, a Jew, who having written a book accusing the Jew of corrupting European culture, committed suicide. As oppisite to this, the trend at the moment is to study the Jewish contribution to the European culture and to examine the problems of the Jewish-non-Jewish coexistance in the past as seen by the non-Jewish world and the Jewry. The stigma of the Jewish difference contributed to the almost complete obliteration of the Jewish culture. Fortunately, today we can see the Jewish cultural expression in Poland, as in Cracow during the Jewish Culture Festival. It is a great achivement to bring back the Jewish life in Kazimierz.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish District (Kazimierz) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Jewish District (Kazimierz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish District (Kazimierz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.