We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't be my first choice! ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Efekt Express Hotel

Save Saved
You added Efekt Express Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Efekt Express Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Opolska 14, Krakow 31-323, Poland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Krakow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 238 hotels in Krakow
Berhampur, Orissa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wouldn't be my first choice! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reasons for my caption:

Location- away from the centre in the middle of nowhere, cab ride from the market square about 35 Zloty.

4star???
definitely not. It's a compact economy stay, no frills european style. For example the tv in the room was an old portable one.

Breakfast
unimpressive on accounts of content and presentation. The buffet was not replenished regularly. Saw only two staff running around to clean up as well as replenish.

Terrible wifi
These days wifi is oxygen!
free wifi there of course, but appaling speed even in the lobby let alone the room!

Only thing I liked was the souvenir kiosk in the lobby, though a small one, had some reasonably priced stuff and exchanged currency at good rates.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
40
15
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 343 for a 3 night stay with Leger. The room size and bathroom were fine – gel and shampoo in dispensers. No safe or fridge, but coffee pot. Has decent AC, but Wifi is a nightmare. They give you the code (need to ensure you type in the capital and small letters exactly!) and you can connect in the room, but its slower than dialup. Don’t even think of skyping, and basic aol email takes several minutes to connect. Breakfast is a decent buffet – even baked beans to satisfy the UK crowd. Sunday night there was loud music playing till 2am – so bring earplugs. The other evenings were quiet. Room has 2 different pillow types – hard and soft, so that is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only real thing that was the issue was location and since i was there during New years i had trouble to find a cab late night after parties. But as far as hotel is concerned everything is just great. Very big breakfast, clean rooms, a lot of small things that hotel gives that are very helpful such as shaving material and nedles for clothes etc. Service could be better since many of them don't know english and only handful of staff is employed. All in all a very pleasent expirience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

stayed there for 2 nights along with a delegation, situated in a central place from which you can explore beautiful krakow.
friendly staff, nice dining room, and a very nice atmospher. its not an hotel you relax in its a place to explore around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband & I spent 4 days we our tour group from Zagreb Croatia. I found the hotel very friendly, clean and the service excellent, the rooms were comfortable, the hotel had a nice buffet breakfast selection, clean table cloths & fresh flowers on the table every day, we had dinner twice, fish & it was great, forgot to bring my camera, to take a photo of the beautiful dish display. Loved my stay there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights end of November ,Hotel is about 15 minutes from Balice Airport. We arrived at the hotel about 5 hours before check in time, but within minutes we were given the key to our room 10/10 for that one ! The room was quite basic with two single beds ,minimal storage space for clothing, tea&coffee making facilities, hair dryer and tv. Bathroom was quite modern with wc ,wash basin and a very good shower! Room has air conditioning and hot air heating system which works well. Rooms are cleaned every day and clean bedding every 2 days. Breakfast was not to my liking mainly of a continental type, cold meats , fruit etc. though there was a toaster and a selection of jam! . Restaurant in hotel has a minimal choice of meals costing an average of about £15 for three course meal without drinks.We dined in here twice and food was good.Hotel location is not too good it is about 3-4 miles out of Krakow city.There is a good bus system to get you there ,the number 130 is best ,bus stop is about 5 minutes walk away from hotel.Beware though when using buses ,you must first purchase ticket from driver . machine on bus or ticket kiosk (small shed like selling cigs and news papers! ) tickets are available in 20minute (60pence)and 40minute (80 pence) journey times .when you have your ticket YOU MUST INSERT IT INTO ANOTHER TICKET MACHINE ON THE BUS WHEN BOARDING TO VALIDATE IT, if you fail to do this you a likely to get a £30 fine..be warned be careful. Near to the hotel there is a massive shopping centre (AUCHAN GALLERIA BODOWICE)which is about 10 10minutes walk away ,it has a supermarket and a great range of shops as well as the usual fast food restaurants. Dont let the location of this hotel put you off staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in the hotel to attend a wedding reception. It is a big hotel and looks like well set up for business and functions, as well as tourists. Our room was spacious with plenty of hanging space but the decor was a bit out of date. The bathroom looked like it had been newly refurbished, as it was bright and modern. However both myself and my partner tripped over the based of the shower as it stuck up a bit and wasn't obvious from above. The cleanliness of the room was very good. The hotel is slightly out of town but the bus stop is closeby and it took just 20 minutes to get into the centre. The staff were very efficient and helpful. The breakfast was fine with a selection hot and cold items. The wedding reception went very well and we were impressed at how hard the staff at the hotel worked. The cost of the room was very reasonable so we would recommend it for a short stay in Krakow if you are on a budget and are not worried about staying right in the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Efekt Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efekt Express Hotel

Address: ul. Opolska 14, Krakow 31-323, Poland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Krakow)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Efekt Express Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel with outstanding hospitality service is conveniently located only a few minutes driving distance from the Main Market Square and the Old Town of the Royal City Krakow. It is also easily accessible from Balice International Airport, routes from Warsaw, and the A4 motorway Katowice -Wroclaw - Berlin. Hotel is the perfect place to start discovering Krakow and surroundings as Auschwitz Birkenau Memorial Museum and Wieliczka Salt Mine tours available at reception. Golf fans will enjoy world-class golfing at the nearby Golf Krakow Valley. The hotel welcomes guests to 181 modern, brightly decorated, air-conditioned double rooms, including rooms for disabled persons, rooms for non-smokers only, twin type of rooms, double rooms (with an extension sofa), as well as connected rooms. The hotel's standards include, among others: complimentary buffet breakfast, coffee and tea makers, wireless Internet access /free of charge/, six conference rooms - for up to 200 persons, a lobby bar, a restaurant serving Polish and international cuisines, a souvenir shop and a car park for 230 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Efekt Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Krakow Hotel Krakow
Holiday Inn Krakow
Krakow Holiday Inn Express
Express Holiday Inn Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Efekt Express Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.