We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quite neighborhood, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petrus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Petrus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petrus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very quite neighborhood, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel is perfect for those who like peace and quite, but still want to be close to the city centre. Breakfast was quite ok. Rooms are in very economic style, but according to the price I was not expecting anything better, but a little refreshment would be appreciated. I was there just for a weekend with my friend sigthseeing and a little bit parting and we were satisfied (just be beware of taxi drivers during night, one of them took a 'longer way', when he knows we are not from town and the bill was really high, next time we used gps to check if we were heading for the right direction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
60
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from three weeks spent at the Petrus Hotel which is situated near to the Elvis Presley memorial! There is no lift in this hotel, but our room was always clean and our beds firm and comfortable, just as we like them.
Breakfast, dinners and snacks were varied and very nice. The hotel staff were all friendly, kind, helpful and efficient.
In Krakaow we could buy weekly tickets for buses and trams for 62 Zloty (or 31 Zloty for seniors): excellent value. The Petrus is approximately 15 minutes walk from Kapelanka tram stop. We were especially pleased to discover that it is close to the River Vistula and less than five minutes away from beautiful countryside and woodland walks, a paradise for hikers, joggers, cyclists and people wishing to enjoy bird song, wild life and outdoor activities.
We should feel happy to return to this hotel if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Krakow on a mini-package in May 2013. The Hotel that we stayed in was the Petrus some 40 ,minutes walk from the centre of Krakow. This sounds to be further than it seems when you make the journey. The trip is along the river Vistula and is a pleasant stroll.
The hotel is quite new and all of the staff that we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. The communal areas are clean and tidy, but unfortunately the bedrooms are less welcoming. Whilst the furniture and beds are fine, the carpets were quite badly stained as was one of the two chairs in our room. This was also the experience of two friends who travelled with us. An outlay of a few hundred pound on cleaning would improve the situation dramatically.

The bar is very small and staffed by the waitresses who wait on tables. The choice at the bar is very limited - NO GIN!! But beer is good and cheap (less than £2 for 500 mls).

Breakfast consisted of cheeses, cold meats, scrambles eggs, sausages, cereals, yoghourts and a variety of bread with preserves. Nothing to complain about there at all.

Generally the hotel was very acceptable for the price we paid for the trip and some better cleaning in the bedrooms would vastly improve the impression it made.

Room Tip: No lift - ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with two (was going to be 3) other friends for a five day break. We were greeted on arrival by a smiling receptionist and told our rooms were ready even thiough it was 10am. i had advised in advance we were coming and that we would like rooms close to each other. this was done with no hassle. Rooms were spotless and very spacious. we dropped off bags and went into town.
As people have previously mentioned there was a coach trip of itialian school student who were really noisy when we got back to the hotel and this continued all noght but they were away the next morning. There were also workmen on site but they did not start until half past nine and in all honesty if you are going to Kreakow you want to be up and have had breakfast by then. They were also very polite. The bar is open 24 hours, which is handy and is no problem for reception if you ask for a drink at any time.

We ate at the hotel restaurant only once at night(as we were in the centre the other nights) and the steaks we had were amazing and all in with beers ect £13 a head! As i had been before I was rememebred by some staff and they were genuinley hapopy to see a returning customer which I think I will be again in the future.

BTW the temprature was approx 24 degrees on the wed thurs of out trip!

Room Tip: Email the hotel first and advise of your stay they will do what they can to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have just returned from spending 5 nights in this excellent hotel for the price. My room was well furnished and very welcoming. Although a bit off the beaten track a good 30 minutes to the City Centre there were plenty of trams close by plus you could always order an inexpensive taxi. I like walk everywhere so it suited me. I also think that the Petrus would make an ideal family holiday as just across the car park is a recreational park where the children can play in a safe environment and if you turn left there is a beautiful wood which are suitable for walking or even riding bikes. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay with plenty to choose from. After my hectic days I ate at the hotel every evening and I found the food to be excellent well cooked and very tasty also you get a 20% discount so a three course meal with a couple of beers cost around £12.00 which was more than needed so I opted for a main meal with salad and a couple of beers for around £6.50 £8.00 per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel staff were really nice,accommodating and helpful on arrival for our short city break.Reception gave advice and tips and recommended nice restaurants to eat at. Very clean and quiet , but perhaps a little further away from the main parts of Krakow. The breakfasts at this hotel were fine ,with a fair choice; cereals,cheese and lovely rye bread ,hard boiled eggs, yogurt,toast,etc.Room was OK but very basic-no hairdryer or any tea/drink making facilities.A nice ,cheap place for a short break.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all let me start with the positives-when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was lovely, very informative and spoke excellent english,The breakfast was great.
Our room was ok but very basic-no hairdryer,bedside lamp or any tea/drink making facility.My sisters room was quite awful,it looked like something from a very cheap hostel but nevertheless was clean.
Now for the VERY negative-staying at the hotel were a group of Italian young people aged prob 15-18 not children-well they run riot, their behaviour was SHOCKING-knocking on doors running through the hotel at all hours --we had absolutely no sleep-I complained to the hotel staff who informed their tutor but they only quietened done for a while then they would start again.I choose this hotel because I thought it would be quieter than staying in the city.WRONG!!! I will not be going back.

Room Tip: we had an attic room which has very sloping ceilings so yo have to be VERY careful getting in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpetrus1, Front Office Manager at Petrus Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We want You really apologies for this inconvenience. Please be sure that we try to do everything to keep quiet this young group. Tour leader was responsibility for group, few reminder, few requests, nothing helps. We are truly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrus Hotel

Address: ul Pietrusinskiego 12, Krakow 30-321, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petrus Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Petrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petrus Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.