We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Galicya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel Galicya to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Galicya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Rzemieslnicza 4, Krakow 30-403, Poland (Formerly Hotel Galicya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% or more
Ranked #71 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This may not be the usual experience of hotel visitors, but I was one of 5 adults accompanying 41 teenage kids on a school trip to Krakow. While the hotel and other residents deserve a medal for sharing with such a group, the patience and understanding of all concerned certainly contributed to a successful and stress-free experience. The check-in procedure was a picture! However, the staff worked methodically and courteously, with little or no incident. The only meal we had while in the hotel was breakfast which, although basic, was adequate and served in a pleasant environment. Of particular note was the night porter - a young chap who understood the particular difficulties of having girls and boys of a 'formative' age staying in close proximity to each other! He worked well with the school staff and was of great help in keeping everybody in their proper places (if you understand what I mean!).
Although the hotel isn't that convenient to the old town, it has tram connections nearby. For more 'normal' visitors, this would be a good value option for a short, sight-seeing trip to Krakow,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and services.
With the experience of taking youth groups in high season whose behavior sometimes gets out of control and have a negative impact on individual guests stays we have developed some solid standard procedures. Which so far operate positively in both directions.
For us the most important is the satisfaction of all guests.
We hope that when planning your next visit to Krakow also choose our hotel.

Greetings from the team Hotel Best Western Galicya
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
52
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for four days. The room was clean and the staff were very helpfull. It is slightly out of town but it is within easy reach of a walk. Or you can take the nm.8 tram into the centre.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

With great pleasure, thank you for such a good and objective review of our hotel.
The main thing for us is that you are happy with the last stay in our hotel and even thinking about the next visit.

We wish you all the best !

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we had the best experience of our holiday from 3 countries. Very clean hotel, very helpful and friendly staff and an excellent breakfast for a 3 star hotel. For coffe A+. Congratulations for the way you treat your guests! Ana Roman, Romania.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire team of the hotel Thank you very much for such a positive opinion of our hotel.
Your satisfaction with your stay is most important to us.
We are constantly trying to raise our standard of service and meet the needs of every guest.
Once again, thank you very much and we wish you all the best!
We look forward to your return visit to our hotel soon.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a great place to stop, if you are thinking about visiting Krakow! We visited here from the 15th-17th July and had fantastic time. Krakow really is well worth visiting. The hotel in general is great and you do not need to look any further! I can't remember her name but the blonde haired receptionist was exceptional, answering any questions we had, and giving us all the information we needed required upon arrival. So a big thank you to her.

Rooms- the rooms were absolutely spotless, couldn't have been cleaner. Your room is cleaned every day, with fresh towels and two bottles of water. There were two fans to keep cool, as obviously it's hot during the summer. Shower fantastic, with a hair dryer in the bathroom too!

Food- We only had breakfast here, but the restaurant and bar are available to use in the evening. Breakfast had a great selection, including frankfurters, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheeses, salad, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, fruit juice, bread(with toaster). Definitely enough to keep you going.

Location- I found the location fantastic. Not much around the hotel(a shop and a Macdonalds), but there is a tram stop about 1 minute to the left of the hotel. Get the number 8 tram, and this will take you to sights like Wawel castle, the Jewish district, and the main square(which is a wonderful square to visit). This takes about ten minutes to these stops. If you are wanting to go to the bus/train station, as we did to visit Auschwitz, then get the number 10 and it takes you just round the corner from it. I recommend the bus as it takes you right outside, whereas the train doesn't. The trams run until between 11-12 I believe, so we had to get a taxi back one night from the main square. This worked out at about 6 pounds, so you don't need to worry about stopping out late down Ul Szewska(the nightlife). The tram also costs 2.80 zloty(60p).

All in all, a wonderful hotel. A perfect base for exploring Krakow :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much!
We are very pleased to read such a wonderful review about our hotel.
For us the most important thing is that your stay was an enjoyable holiday and left good memories.
We wish you all the best and of course, Welcome to join us again soon!

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 10 – 15 July. All the staff are very,very helpful and so friendly! They made local phone calls and printed a few bus time tables for me at no charge! As a veggie I had no issues with the b/fast of sliced gherkins, tomatoes, cucumber, boiled eggs, soft white cheese and pickled mushrooms [which I’d never had before] lovely! All the usual cold cuts, pancakes, scrambled eggs and little chunks of red sausage. The restaurant had large windows so it was nice and bright on a sunny day…unfortunately I only got 3 of these; the other 3 were cloudy and very, very wet so make sure you take waterproofs. I was on my own so there was more than enough room for me. A flat screen TV with only one English language news channel but not a problem as there’s free WiFi in the rooms! There’s no air con so if you get any hot days it’d be a complete nightmare using the table fan. Cleaned daily unless you put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I had room 302 and there was quite a bit of traffic noise pretty much constantly but I got used to it. Nice bathroom with Dove hand wash and Imperial Leather shampoo/shower gel!! The hairdryer was a good one too! The tram stops are just around the corner from the hotel and it’s very easy to get about although you have to buy your tkts before boarding unless you have the correct change to pay on the tram. I bought mine from one of the little booths but once I’d worked out the route back from the Centrum I didn’t bother with the trams after that. Admittedly it was about an hour but if you like walking you’ll be fine. There are lots of things to see in the Old Town so check out the tour operators in the main streets as they seem to do the best deals. I went to another town called Tarnow as a Polish colleague of mine is from there and she insisted that I visit ! It’s very nice and clean with a little local museum which was open on Sunday although pretty much everything was closed.

Room Tip: You get quite a bit of traffic noise in room 302 on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for such a good opinion about our services.
We were very pleased to host you in our hotel.
We are very pleased that your stay in our hotel and a beautiful Krakow left so positive and pleasant impression.
We have great hope that we will still have the opportunity to host you again in our hotel.

Best wishes from the entire team Hotel Best Western Galicya !

Best regards

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleased with location, value and service from staff. The room was nice and clean but lacks air conditioning and thus the rooms were a bit hot and stuffy during the warm July nights. We had a room at the back of the hotel and the only noise heard was from the odd tram.
The hotel is a couple of miles from the old town, we took a slow walk one night and it took about 40 mins to get there and got a cab back, tram stop is also very near the hotel.
We had a car and the location of the hotel was ideal for quickly getting out of Krakow for a trip to Aushwitz (1hr 10min) the salt mine (15 min) and Wadowice (40 min) also the Sanctuary of Divine Mercy is less than a mile away and walkable . Parking is 20Zl a night at the front of the hotel and parking spaces seemed plentiful,
Breakfast was good, plentiful with lots of choice including a couple of hot items (eggs and sausages) We also ate in the restaurant twice for dinner and were happy with the food and price, the waiter/barman was a very pleasant guy always willing to help with a smile. The restaurant is air conditioned.
WiFi was stable and fairly fast.
Would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Krakow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff of the hotel very thank you for such a favorable assessment of our services.
We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel and attractions that seen in Cracow left so pleasant memories.
Certainly are more interesting places to see so we invite you to the next trip to Krakow and our hotel.
We wish you all the best !

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family and I just arrived from this Hotel and we were glade that we have booked at Hotel Best Western Galycia, We enjoyed our 12 day stay very much and we have nothing to complain about, the reception staff speaks English well and are very helpful, restaurant, cleaners and porters are very friendly and helpful. Tram stops from Hotel is just opposite and only 8 stops by Tram No 8 from Galleria Krakowska. Breakfast buffet selection is good with cereals, yoghurt, fruits different types of bread, cheeses, ham, salads, dried fruits, pancakes,jams, eggs and sausages. The hotel restaurant serves very good food with good selection of dishes, everyday there are special offers when dining in. We do recommend Hotel Best Western Galycia.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Our Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful opinion and thank you that we were able to host you in our hotel.
Your satisfaction with your stay is very important to us.
We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful Krakow and our hotel.
We wish you all the best!!

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Galicya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Galicya

Address: ul. Rzemieslnicza 4, Krakow 30-403, Poland (Formerly Hotel Galicya)
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#26 Family Hotel in Krakow
#57 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Galicya 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Galicya is a comfortable hotel located in the Podgorze district, known for its interesting urban buildings and the numerous companies which have decided to open offices here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Hotel Galicya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galicya Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Galicya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.