We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtedly One of the Best Hotels in Krakow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wentzl to your Saves list
Hotel Wentzl
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008 , Poland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly One of the Best Hotels in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

As others have said the hotel is ideally situated on Market Square with fabulous views of the square and the surrounding historic buildings.

Having flown in from the UK we took the train from Krakow airport to the main railway station. From there it is a pleasant 15 minute walk though streets full of interest to reach the Wentzl where we received a very warm welcome in spite of the outside temperature being around -20C.

We were shown to room 41 on the top floor of the hotel. What a delightful room, large with a modern theme, very well equipped and a small balcony looking onto Market Square. All in all a perfect start to 5-day trip to Poland.

As the hotel is so convenient to many good restaurants the only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast. Again it could not be faulted with both a good buffet selection and made to order hot dishes.

The Wentzl may be one of the more expensive in Krakow but the value for money is excellent and is highly recommended for that special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    111
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
434
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Nowhere else can you stay in such a remarkable, beautiful, perfectly located hotel in a major European city for a mere 169 Euro!

We arrived on the overnight train, and were able to leave our bags and freshen up. Our room became available at 9:30 AM and after a quick coffee across the square, we were able to settle in. Room 33 was amazing- the view of the wintry square was lovely!

Joanna, and all of the desk clerks were extremely courteous, friendly, and helpful. Within walking distance of points north (Galeria Krakowska, Florianska Street) and points south (St Catherine's Church, Wawel Cathedral)...even in the winter!

Best hotel experience in recent memory, and when we return to Krakow- this will be an easy decision...we WILL stay at the Wentzl!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the square, from what I understand. Their website has a photo of each room, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel right on the square. We had a lovely room with a big four poster bed. Our room was like staying in a museum. The bathroom had a big bath and there was even some rubber ducks. There was mood lighting in the bathroom and in the bedroom. The room was absolutely massive and looked right out onto the square. What a view at night time! A coffee machine was in the room and the coffee was fantastic. A nice touch at the end of the day. Everything in the hotel was immaculate and extremely clean. Breakfast each day was in the restaurant. We could have ordered hot food but there was plenty of cold food to eat. I think at the time there were only a few clients staying in the hotel but they still managed to put out quite a bit of food. There was free wifi throughout the hotel which was great.
The hotel is next to the main shopping street and there are plenty of cheap but good quality restaurants around.
I would go to Krakow just to stay at this hotel again! A must if you are in Poland.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the square. We stayed in room 21 so ask for that room as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was lovely. The room was very spacious and the beds were so comfortable.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. We booked all our trips through the hotel. They were very cheap and we travelled in very comfortable mini buses.
The location of the hotel was fantastic. We didn't pay anything in taxis to any where. We ate on the sqaure every night.
We are planning to go back December 2012. We hope the Christnas markets are on again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Fab hotel. My partner and I stayed 4 days at the Wentzl in november . Small city hotel, old and with character, charming helpful staff. In November it was very cold of course but our room was quite grand but cosy and warm . Our view could not have been better - across the lovely medieval market square ,bustling with life but only audible with the window open ( which we only did once to hear the beautiful sound of choir singing from across the square) We did not eat in the hotel as we preffered to try some of the many local eateries all within a few minutes walk. I recommend the Jewish Quarter Walking Tour with a persoanl guide, a very interesting half day . Due to a public holiday ,we did not have time to visit Aushwitz which would be a must for most people I think.

Room Tip: Request front facing , worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I have have just returned from a short break in Krakow at the Hotel Wentzl.
I could not fault the hotel, the room, staff, food or service.
We will definately return.
This hotel is overlooking the main square which is ideal for exploring.
The hotel reception can arrange any trips you require and we recommend the Aushwitz trip - a very moving experience.
They have a good selection of DVDs for use with the surround sound TV in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend stay at Wentzl. We fell in love with Krakow and this beautiful hotel. The service was amazing, the reception staff could not have done more for us. The room was beautifully finished, perfectly appointed and extremely clean. Excellent location right on the main square in the Old Town, walking distance to everything. Will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to Krakow.

Room Tip: We had a great room that overlooked the main square, lovely view in the evening with the snow fallin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Address: Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008 , Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#2 Business Hotel in Krakow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wentzl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.