We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, convenient, but very noisy setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pod Roza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pod Roza to your Saves list
Hotel Pod Roza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ulica Florianska, 14, Krakow 31-021 , Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, convenient, but very noisy setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Poland. We stayed for 2 nights at the Pod Roza. The Hotel was very nice and had a great breakfast included in the price of the room. Usually continental breakfast in the States means coffee and cold pastry, but this breakfast was amazing...eggs, meats, cheeses. Very nice.

My reason for booking with the Pod Roza was to be a bit off the main square, because I understood it could be noisy- but the hotel is across a side street from a bar- and since the weather was so beautiful, people were outside yelling, singing etc. until 3:00 AM. Keeping the windows closed and using the a/c helped a bit- but it still kept us up at night.

Being 40 somethings that are a bit past the rowdy bar scene, we were happy that we chose not to spend the entire time in Krakow in this Hotel and moved up to the other side of the Florianska Gate- a little further walk to the Square, but far more quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    77
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
85
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful, grand building, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are exquisite. The showers are fantastic and each bath has a jacuzzi function - very welcome after a days walking! The staff were lovely and very helpful. The location is great and only two or three minutes walk to the main square, and about ten minutes walk from the railway station which is useful if you come in that way from the airport. Breakfast was good although the majority of the buffet was meat, cheese, salad and pickles - which seems to be very popular in many European places, but isn't really our cup of tea!! The coffee was excellent quality though. The only downside (and it was a big downside for us as we enjoy our peace and quiet) is that it's on a very busy road for pedestrians. Our room was on the side of the hotel which they told us was quiet!! They didn't tell us that our room overlooked a number of bars which don't close until 3am every night (that goes for all bars etc in town - Friday and Saturday night are big party nights). There was also a loose drain cover on the road and every time a car went over it, it woke us up! We moved to a room that was at the back of the hotel which was quieter, but on Friday and Saturday nights, the town is very noisy and even with earplugs in we could hear music and shouting until the early hours. It's a shame as the hotel is so lovely. If you don't mind the noise then definitely stay here. If you do, ask for a bedroom off the streets!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Excellent, located in the heart of the city, this boutique hotel at the market belongs to the famous family of hoteliers in Krakow. The gourmet restaurant, offers an interesting selection of Italian cuisine and the largest in Krakow cellar of Italian wines. Unfortunately, it is often empty because of the money available for a typical resident. Very attentive staff. Wide choice of dishes for breakfast. L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom. Small, intimate mini-gym with sauna and a view of the backyards and roofs of Cracow. Apartments and junior suites are particularly noteworthy. Would avoid attic room in the attic because of the almost claustrophobic small size. Best time to visit Krakow this May, June and September.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We visited Krakow for a "betwixmas" 4 night break. We caught the end of the Christmas market and start of the city's lively new year celebrations. Pod Rosa has a fantastic location and is a beautiful and stylish hotel. Our room was cosy (when it was -8 outside) and had all mod cons its just unfortunate that the warmth didn't really extend to the staff in reception or the restaurant. It wasn't that they were inpolite, just cold and to the point. A smile goes a long way in a "home away from home". A bit of variety at breakfast would also have been nice, e.g. different fruits, pastries and cheeses on the cold buffet and a bit less of a focus on eggs on the hot menu. Perhaps the hotel is geared more towards one night stay business clients, where variety doesn't matter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were lucky, we won weekend in hotel in Cracow. Super big attic room, extra comfortable bed. I guess You cannot sleep closer to main market (it may seem that in room can be loud - but fortunately it is not). Interior looks good, hotel has quite large restaurant. Main positive is location, evening walk in centre of old town is not a problem when You sleep next door to Florianska street :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is within spitting distance of the market square and so everywhere is walkable. We booked early and got a very reasonable rate and (by our standards at least) was quite luxurious. Room was clean, bathroom well stocked with everything you would need and internet connection was good and free. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful including hot meals you could order. Very tastefully decorated and great location. downside to the location was that it could be noisy at night but it is air conditioned and so yu could close the windows. One evening we were 'entertained' by some very loud African drummers who penetrated even the closed windows.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport in Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

My daughter wanted a romantic wedding in Cracow with the Apaloosa horse & a white carriage! She got both!
After doing some intensive research with her fiance & obtaining menus, prices etc they went for a few days to check them out.The Hotel Pod Roza was extr emelly helpful & accommodating with all their preferences & requests. My husband & I spoke with them on a number of occasions by phone & met up with them subsequently.
We narrowed down the menu & the hotel provided a degustacion(tasting of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts & three soups.(one plate for the four of us in each category)
We had a brilliant wedding dinner followed by an evening of dancing to a jazz band & a buffet.
Everyone commented that this was the most amazing food they had eaten in Cracow & that the presentation & flavour was magnificent,The restaurant is open daily for meals & snacks.
The bridal suite & visitors bedrooms were modern, immaculate & splendid.
The whole hotel operation is run by Pawel & Andrzej & the staff are very professional.
It was a brilliant experience & We shall be eating there again when we go to Cracow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pod Roza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Roza

Address: Ulica Florianska, 14, Krakow 31-021 , Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#38 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Roza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pod Roza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Roza Hotel
Pod Roza Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pod Roza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.