We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Part vs. New Part !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% or more
Ranked #92 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Old Part vs. New Part !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This review could depend on whether you evaluate an old part of the hotel or the new part. Both parts are vastly different. New Part is modern and away from the street noise and squeaking wheels of the old trams, old part is just an old part - a bit rundown and exposed to the street noise. So if you are an alert sleeper - do not go to the old part. You will simply not sleep !!! Go to the new part instead, but do not be surprise of an avant-garde decor. Breakfasts are nice in a form of a buffet, typical Polish cuisine. The location is fine - with a short distance to the Old Town and Wawel Castle. You could also easily walk from there to Kazimierz - the Jewish quarter of the pre-war Cracow.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the New Part of the hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your opinion. Each of them is very important for us. The new part is more quiet, but also a half of the standard part is overlooking the backsite. we are trying to ask each of our Guest which side is preffering, but sometimes it is impossible, because of occupancy of the rooms. Hope you will choose our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    216
    68
    25
    7
See reviews for
49
176
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Krakow Old Town. We had read the reviews and chose this one because of great reviews and convenient location. The reviews were indeed right! We could walk everywhere, even in the snow! The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, We were allocated a room in the Jazz Suite - nice and quiet and we liked the colours! Room very clean, wifi worked first time, room cleaned immaculately every day. We were so pleased with the hotel, looking forward to a return visit in the near future. Thank you!

Room Tip: Jazz Suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. See you next time.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel excellent .staff friendly, helpful . Rooms cleaned and beds made daily. Rooms spacious some with tea and coffee making facilities. As in most places bar and restaurant prices very reasonable in hotel . Free wifi available. Short walk to centre of town.
Best to avoid rooms at front of hotel as are noisy from trams passing all day and most of the night .
Breakfast very good with plenty of choice

Room Tip: Room away from front quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. Hope you will come back in the future.

Kind reagrds,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just stayed at the Best Western Hotel in Krakow Old Town. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if coming here for a short break. The rooms are on the small side but the high ceilings make it feel more spacious, everywhere was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was ample, my only advice to the hotel would be to provide a better toaster!! The trams I can see would be a problem, we were lucky in that we had a rear room. Please do not blame the hotel for the noise from the trams as there is nothing that can be done to lessen this. Thank you to all staff at the hotel to ensure we had a good time here.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are best to lessen the tram noise, not hotel fault!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your feedback. It is a great honour for me to read your opinion, especially about staff, because I know how it is important for our Guests.
We take care about the toaster at the breakfast.
We are asking our Guests to choose the side of the hotel, but sometimes it is impossible, because f.ex. all rooms at back side of the hotel are occupied. I know that the tram nosise could be a little disturbing, but we are in the city center nearby the main road and I am not able to do anything with this. Thank you for recommending us.
Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manger Best Western Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel at beginning of February for 2 nights. Room was big enough and warm, fairly modern furnishings, bath room had heated towel rail and new shower.
Only problem was noise from the trams at night.
Breakfast was good with a lot of choice.
Hotel has very well located, near main square and near Wavel castle.
Reception staff could of been more knowledgeable about train times as we were given wrong information about times of airport trains and nearly missed our flight.
Also we haven't been asked of any feedback on check out.
Otherwise our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is really nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I hope that you choose it one more time in the future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Best Western Krakow Old town and were definately not impressed. Room very small and dated and unless you requested that the room be fully serviced they did not even make the bed.
Breakfast in the restaurant was mediocre and slightly cold, at check out no enquiry regarding how we enjoyed our stay etc.
Only good point was the location in relation to the Old Town.
We stayed for two nights at the beginning of the week and were due to stay a further two nights at the end of the week however we cancelled this second stay and decided to stay in a more superior hotel further from the Old town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your opinion. It is very important for me. I am very sorry for the inconveniences.

Kindly regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our holiday company had failed to book the hotel we had paid for so my wife and I turned up un announced at this Hotel,we explained the situation that it was our anniversary and our first time in Poland, we were met with sympathy and understanding with a room being made available. We stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed our time there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is outstanding, Thanks Best Western Old Town.

Room Tip: We liked the Tram noise, if that bothers you ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your opinion. It is a great plasure for me to read it.
If you will be in Cracow in the future, I hope that you will also choose our Best Western Kraków Old Town hotel.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
BEST WESTERN Kraków Ol dTown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town

Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#47 Business Hotel in Krakow
#59 Family Hotel in Krakow
#73 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.