We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Copernicus to your Saves list
Hotel Copernicus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-002 , Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

After reading the web site(on my return) I am amazed to hear any negatives about this hotel. Having spent the last few weeks in th e maldivess and cyprus in 5 star hotels receiving the most amazing service I would thoroughly recommend the Copernicus for a city break. We arrived to a very welcome geeeting from the manager with thorough and detailed information on how to see the sights we wished...namely Aushwitz and the salt mines and to this end they arranged our trips at no great cost (120zloty each) which for a full day with guide and costing no more than £25.00 each was an absolute bargain. The rooms can be a little warm but we opened our window...voila!.The breakfast was excellent and consisted of eggs, cereal ,smoked salmon and to be quite honest anything you could have wanted....I recommend the soft boiled eggs...utterly perfect,,,,all I can say is if you wish to move to the starck and satinless steel sheraton (which I am sure is as good) you need your culture taste buds reigniting, the rack rates are exoensive but book through an agent and your problems are solved...we walked everywhere as the hotel was such a great location for the sights and what a wonderful place krakow is.....an emotional visit to Auchwitz, an amazing salts mine experience, try a kebab on the street ( I never thought I would but worth it) and walk as much as you can..its beautiful...and for those that want more...book the baros at the maldives...you get the service but not the sights!

  • Liked — staff and accomadation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    62
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
45
148
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I have just returned from a 3 night weekend break in krakow. we stayed in the hotel copernicus having checked it out on trip advisor and other sites, and I must say we weren't disappointed. on arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a luxury suite, our room was fantastic..high wooden ceilings, lovely bed, big plasma tv, gorgeous bathroom with heated marble floors and plenty of l'occitane toiletries with a really nice view from the window up to wawel castle.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and I really only have good things to say about them...I see that previous reviews were dissatisfied with the staff, and i cant help but feel that perhaps a small amount of warmth and friendliness is required in order for staff to return it!

Food in the restaurant was excellent, we had dinner which was probably our nicest meal in krakow. Breakfast was nice, the scrambled eggs with bacon are really tasty. All in all a fabulous experience, you really do feel like your getting something a bit different with a bit of history thrown in for good measure!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

Our first visit Krakow and we chose this hotel because of its location,” boutique style” and anticipated quality and the fact it was totally unique and not a typical comfortable cell in an anonymous sleep factory.

It was expensive IF you paid the direct to hotel rate or via any of the Polish sites - book via Expedia, we saved over 60%!

Like many hotels around the world that we have visited Copernicus was luxury for the city it was within, by that I mean luxury in Poland is not the same as say luxury in Paris or London or New York.

It is perfectly located and well presented.
It would be terrible, indeed criminal if they had butchered a 500 year old building simply to pacify the needs of 2008 travellers so it does possess an austere persona.
What changes they have made have been done thoughtfully and sensibly.
It’s located in the oldest street in Krakow!

We stayed for 4 days in January and the hotel was extremely well heated, maybe a tad too hot!

Without exception the staff were all extremely polite and courteous and the lady who escorted us to our room was quite jolly, not something I have seen too regularly on visits to former Eastern block countries.

The overall cleanliness was high,as was the maintenance of the property, all be it they were still waiting for the Italians to supply a replacement glass door to the lift.

The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and we were asked and supplied with additional pillows by the bellhop as he delivered our bags.

The bathroom had a monster power shower in it, absolutely brilliant.
All the freebie acessories were luxury branded- the towels new and fluffy- as were the huge gowns they supplied.


There is a safe and mini bar in the room

The meals we enjoyed in the hotel were extremely well presented, well cooked and of good quality ingredients and a pianist played whist we ate dinner that was sold at typical UK prices.

Breakfast was the usual, a help yourself buffet, cereals,fresh
fruits, cooked and smoked meats,cheeses,pickled and soused herrings, smoked salmon etc but there was hot food and choice of eggs and omelettes with fillings of cheese or hams all were freshly cooked on request and there was a full printed menu in English on each table to choose from

There was also a choice of some superb Polish breads and conserves, the former being an acquired taste to some.

Service was again extremely pleasant and efficient by 2 young ladies who spoke perfect English; indeed all the staff spoke acceptable English so communication isn’t a problem.

Coffee, as with all the restaurants and cafes we visited in Krakow was ughhhhhhhhhhhh, apparently it is freshly ground but they add chicory to it.
Seems to be a Polish legacy from the Russian days.. ….but fear not as they used high quality teas.

The pool is small but like the rest of the hotel its clean and has a unique atmospheric very romantic setting if you are that way inclined, :P:P

All in this entire hotel is a wise choice for those who want an unusual, different and unique experience and for who don’t want to stay in a luxury sleep factory where they could be in any city in any country of the world!

  • Liked — Atmospheric, unique, historic, well maintained and perfectly located
  • Disliked — Post dinner / lounge seating at a premium
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

As my wife and I were married in Krakow, we decided to spend a romantic weekend in the city to celebrate the news that our first child is on the way. As we have friends and family in Krakow, we have never had much cause to stay in hotels in the city, but given the hype around Copernicus, decided it would be the perfect place to stay. Our experience can be simply summarized with the word; Disappointed. While the Copernicus is by no means a terrible hotel, it is far from being a luxury hotel (at least as we have come to define that term from our experiences around the world). While we have always appreciated the discreet service of luxury hotels, we have found it is typically accompanied by a certain warmth. At Copernicus, the service was not only cold but was not particularly competent either. Additionally, the deluxe suite we stayed in was more reminiscent of a warehouse for disused furniture than a well appointed luxury suite. The entrance to our room reminded us of the reception area to a doctor's office w/ what we believed to be a secretary's desk and recpetion sofa (only the assortment of magazines was missing). The bed was uncomfortable with a notable absence of any pillows (it took 30 minutes for room service to deliver more). The sitting area was memorable only for it's lack of seating with furniture including only two chairs (more suitable for a dinning room that a sitting room), a mini bar and a television. Lastly, our breakfast left us severely disappointed. The buffet style breakfast was comprised of three different cold cuts, three types of cheese, assorted rolls and cereal. To be fair, the rolls were quiet good but it was hardly the selection one would expect. When we inquired about the possibility of a warm breakfast or something a al carte, we were disappointed to learn that the only options were eggs. However, trying to put a brave face on it, we decided to satisfy ourselves with coffee and some eggs but when we took the first sip of coffee, which was obviously an extremely cheap instant brew, we decided enough was enough. In the end, our romantic weekend was saved by relocating ourselves to the Sheraton, which while is a typical Sheraton as you will find around the world, has good service, extremely nice suites and is as conveniently located as the Copernicus.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Accomodation
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Having looked at tripadvisor for somewhere to stay in Krakow and the offer of cheap flights from our local airport, we decided to stay at the Hotel Copernicus .
The hotel was everything we were led to believe, the staff were attentive if you wished them to be, but discrete at other times. This may seem a little aloof to some, but just ask them for anything you want, and allow them to be friendly, and you will have a great stay.
While we were there there seemed to be a nice balance of business and leisure guests and the hotel was small enough for each guest to be remembered personally by most staff and the lady host Joanna. (Oh and Thanks for the leaving gifts)
Whilst we were there the housekeepers were just installing scales for the rooms, great, if you are weight watching or on a weight restricted flight for your luggage.
If I were to suggest anything in the way of an improvement for the hotel room it would be for tea and coffee making facilities as others have also suggested.
Anyway thank you for a great stay at the Copernicus and we will be back in the summer.
p.s. If you get chance to have the chocolate cake at breakfast try it with the hot chocolate or even the coffee Yum!!

  • Liked — It was not om the stag weekend route and you could hear yourself talk ... .40+;)
  • Disliked — We had a luxury double room and it was great in the winter, however, in the summer the noise from the trips to the Weissel would have been too noisy, so would recommend a back room.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

The hotel does have a great location as it is very close to Wawel castle. However the atmosphere is very cold and certainly not welcoming at all. Very rarely did any of the staff seem to smile at guests.. The reception bar is cold has no atmosphere and the library only has three comfortable armchairs (the other chairs are straight backed dining chairs and not what you want to relax in) and we saw many people wander in hoping to sit down and then have to leave again. It was a big shame as this hotel if it improved the facilities e.g. made a welcoming sitting room with comfy sofas and chairs and most important improved the staff would be a great place to stay - but it is certainly not at present! I would not return.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — cold and unfriendly
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a fabulous weekend in Krakow. One of the highlights was the Hotel Copernicus. We walked in from the chilly Polish night to a roaring fire, piles of decorative pumpkins and the warmest of welcomes. We were upgraded to a luxury room - marble bathroom, huge bed and view up the cobbled street to the castle on Wawel Hill.
The hotel is beautiful, elegant, luxurious but not stuffy. Throughout our stay, everyone was friendly and helpful - we were made to feel really special. (And we weren't a bit cold, Jules36!)
If you choose to stay here, then do try the restaurant as it probably serves the best food in Krakow. When we were there it was mushroom and pumpkin season and the chef was clearly a fan of both. In fact, the mushrooms were wonderful everywhere - at Miod Malina on Grodzna (?) we ate huge portions of fresh porcini cooked with rosemary and cream for about £4 and at Miod Wino we had pierogi (sort of fried ravioli) stuffed with wild mushrooms for about the same price.

  • Liked — The beauty of the building and decor
  • Disliked — The relatively high priced wine - but this is the same everywhere in Krakow
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#72 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#34 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Sheraton Krakow Hotel
#22 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#6 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#7 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Krakow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#30 Family Hotel in Krakow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Copernicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.