We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wawel Hotel to your Saves list
Wawel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Poselska St, Krakow 31-002 , Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Loxton, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was a little worried when I booked this hotel because it said my room was only 4x3 metres, but as I was travelling alone I thought it would be ok. I need not have worried as my room was excellent. The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished as it had a very 'new' feel to it. I didn't use the spa facilities that are an additional cost, and I would echo the sentiments of others in regards to the breakfast, but overall this is a great hotel in perfect location. It is only about 200 metres from the town square but it is situated on a very quiet street so you do not get any noise from the mainly pedestrian traffic going to and from the square. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    112
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
134
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Really good situation, less than 5 minutes to Rynek Glowny and in the middle of Stare Miasto. The rooms were huge and very confortable, the staff really friendly and helpful and we have nearly anything to complain about.
The only low point for us was the breakfast, fairly poor and low quality, specially compared to the high quality of everything else. I think it depends on the nearby restaurant. They should try to make it better. The coffee was really poor, the juices were watery and it wasn't easy to chose what You feel like eating.
In the other hand, You have free water, coffee or tea for drink whenever You want in the orangery. A really good detail.
If You want total darkness to sleep You shouldn't get one of the top floor rooms, but it wasn't a big problem.
Maybe another low point is that one of our rooms had a shower that wasn't close for one of its sides and it was really difficult to avoid the water going out and wet part of the floor, but that wasn't really a problem as the bathroom was huge.
Really a good choice I would recommend to anyone willing to discover Kraków.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were not disappointed when we reached this lovely hotel, which we found on tripadvisor. We were given a warm welcome, and although we arrived early, we were able to check in as our room was ready. The room was 306, spacious, very clean and comfortable, and the bed was extremely comfy. The bathroom had a huge shower. 2 bottles of water were left in the room each day, and there was also a safe and a fridge in the room which were both handy. We used the spa - Jacuzzi area one day, which was most relaxing. Excellent choice of breakfast choices - continental and cooked food available each morning, - all self service. There is a room on the 1st floor with hot drinks in and also water machines on each floor. The hotel is a short walking distance to the Castle area, and also the main square and various shopping centres.

Room Tip: we had room 306 which was at the back of the hotel, but overlooked a bar/restaurant. My husband did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very nice hotel located close to the square and Maria basilika. Nice staff. We tried the spa and enjoyed it very much, it was clean and nice. One in our group needed glutenfree bread for breakfast and it was no problem. I highly recommend the hotel and the location for friends and everybody else. I will certainly go to Krakow again, and my choice will be to stay at Wawel hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Comfortable room in central hotel - mineral water to hand; coffee and water machines along the corridor - nice touch. Friendly, helpful staff helped to book trips, etc. Wide choice at breakfast buffet.
Fabulous spa - memorable experience, well worth the extra charge: provided enjoyable escape from the sudden rain!.
Would certainly return if revisiting Krakow.

Room Tip: Pleasant view overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is very close to the main square in Krakow, and also a short walk to the castle. This meant we could come back to the hotel for a break from sightseeing (and the heat as it was 30 degrees when we were there in mid May). Our room was not very big, but comfortable and clean. There was a huge choice of tasty Polish dishes for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto the restaurant so was quite noisy at night (with the window open as we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were guest of this hotel just after Easter and had a very good stay. Very good room, well-furnished and quiet, close to historical Market Place and the Wawel Castle. In addition free Wi-Fi and fresh mineral water in the room every day, and a free coffee/tea area for guests open 24h. The hotel has also a SPA, but we did not have the time to enjoy it. The concierge personnel were always available to provide any king of information and very kind too. May be the room rate was a little bit high compared to the cost of living in Poland, but it was Easter season and Pope John Paul II sanctification and these two events have likely increased the prices. I do really recommend this hotel when you want to visit Krakow and stay down-town in a good quality hotel at reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Address: 22 Poselska St, Krakow 31-002 , Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Krakow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#44 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wawel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.