We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful home base for seeing Krakow. Friendly staff went out of their way to be helpful upon our arrival.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wawel Hotel to your Saves list
Wawel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Poselska St, Krakow 31-002 , Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful home base for seeing Krakow. Friendly staff went out of their way to be helpful upon our arrival.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved our 4 night stay at this hotel. A wonderful location near the town center, yet only church bells could be heard on this quiet street. The staff were all very warm and friendly - even directing us to the nearest hospital upon our arrival due to illness! We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    129
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
165
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stay at this hotel for a 4 day city break, I can tick every box, the staff were helpful, polite,and efficient, the hotel was in a perfect spot in a quiet street, so a good nite sleep the whole stay it was extremely clean and breakfast was a filling pleasant affair krakow is a lovely city we had nice meals my favourite was a place called goscinna Chata just off the main square (cloth hall) would I stay there again ? definitely

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is out first visit and once again what a great hotel. I would say small and friendly but having been to many 5* hotels the service and facilities are really good and deserve a high rating. Its located just off the main square but in a very quiet street just 5 minutes walk. So, the hotel itself is very smart and well decorated throughout. get the best room you can, doubles are really nice but we had room 315, an apartment which is huge with two bathrooms and lots of space. he wellness centre is great and very private, we had a Jacuzzi everyday for 30 mins just under £10 per session - great value. Breakfast is very good with everything you could ask (hot and cold) and they will cook fresh english at no extra charge. It really is a nice and friendly place to stay we would certainly recommend it, try it you wont be disappointed and having stayed in Krakow at more expensive places this is THE place !

Room Tip: Room 315 is a real steal at the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hotel is located on a quiet side street just off of one of the main Streets that goes to the Main Square and also to the Castle. You can walk to the Square in 5 minutes, the castle in less than 10. Plenty of good restaurants in the area as well.

The hotel itself is very nice with clean and comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is free internet and the breakfast is good- a buffet with eggs, meats, breads, yogurt, etc. There is a spa in the hotel as well which I did not use, but I'm sure it is nice as everything else was.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They booked a cab for me back to the airport and all went perfectly

Room Tip: The elevator goes to the 3rd floor (second floor to Europeans) but not to the fourth. If you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just arrived back from The Wawel Hotel and absolutely loved it! After reading previous reviews before booking we were expecting high standards and I am pleased to say I found this hotel did not disappoint at all! Hotel staff are such a credit to the hotel, they are so helpful and informative! We booked all our tours via the hotel and found the value and service brilliant! We were 2 couples and were given rooms on the 4th floor! Rooms were big and lovely, beautiful modern bathrooms and such comfortable beds! Some people have complained on previous reviews that breakfast could be better but we all found it varied enough and more than adequate! Hotel is situated in a perfect location, very quiet but literally a few minutes from the main square which is in surrounded by wonderful buildings, restaurants and shops! I hope to return to Krakow again next year and when I do I will definitely book this hotel again! We had a wonderful dinner at the Corleone restaurant opposite the hotel, the food and decor was lovely and reasonably priced and we all received a complimentary glass of wine! Enjoy Krakow, you will love it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Situated between wawel castle and market square.you cant wish to be in a better location.The room was very comfortable the room was like a suite with sofa and armchair in room.Staff extremely friendly and helpful.good restaurants and coffee shops in same street and round corner.Booked tours from shop next to st peter and paul church called exciting tours,were well priced and very professional.

Room Tip: book room away from beginning of corridor as heavy door makes noise when shuts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ended up staying here because we had decided to drive into Krakow a day early and our destination hotel, Senacki, was not available. After a crazy drive up and down narrow alleyways to find this place, our GPS couldn't, we finally found it. The folks at Senacki told us that a room was available here. When we arrived at 7 p.m., exhausted from the 6.5 hour drive from Prague, the woman at the front desk looked surprised that we were there. It was obvious that a room was not available. But, she told us that she could have something ready in an hour. We didn't know where to park. The spot in front of the hotel, on a narrow street, was for unloading only. We were allowed to stay there until our room was ready. An added bonus was the onsite restaurant where we were able to grab a drink and meal while waiting. The restaurant was fantastic (I cannot remember the name). We were able to get inexpensive drinks and an authentic Polish meal for a reasonable price. After we were through, we were able to check in. Unfortunately, this is when we found out about the parking problem. The reception clerk explained to us where we were to park (and pay a daily rate). We both drove the car to a lot which was at least 5 blocks away from the hotel across a main thoroughfare. It was a rainy night and we weren't sure if the lot we found was the right one. it was unattended and had no sign for the hotel. Not having any sense of direction in Krakow this first night, when walking back to the hotel, we got lost! REALLY LOST! We walked around in the rain, ducking into several places trying to find someone who could speak English to help us get back to our hotel. After about a hour, completely drenched, we finally found our way back. Later, after 3 days in Krakow, we figured out our mistakes and knew that the Wawel was in a very good location, with very bad parking.
With the exception of the updated bathroom, the room was dated and dark. The bed was uncomfortable, the mattress hard and the pillows were thin, as were the bed coverings. We did not have a good nights sleep. The water pressure was good and water was hot, but there was not separate shampoo, conditioner and body wash. All 3 were in a dispenser, which I hated. Also, there was a lack of good quality towels and no washcloths. Really, everything in this place, based on it's great location, needed updating. The reception and common areas were tired, but VERY clean.

The best part of the hotel, besides location, was the complimentary breakfast. You had to walk past the reception through a pleasant courtyard to a designated breakfast room. The selection was plentiful and good and they prepared made to order eggs. The server was very nice.

My recommendation, if you can get a lower rate (we paid to $180.00 US, with parking), don't mind a hard bed or better linens or the crazy paid parking location, this hotel might work for you. It is very close to the main square, Rynek Glowny, were you'll be spending most of your time anyway.
Note to Owner: a few upgrades to decor, mattress and linens would do wonders for the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Senacki
Hotel Senacki
#10 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#6 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Stare Miasto
Maltanski Hotel
Maltanski Hotel
#19 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Address: 22 Poselska St, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Krakow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#35 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wawel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.