We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wawel Royal Castle

Wawel Royal Castle
Wawel 5, Krakow 31-001 , Poland
+48 12 422 51 55
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wawel Royal Castle like an insider
Private Tour
$16*
and up
Private Tour: Krakow City Highlights Tour
Ranked #11 of 227 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Serving as a royal residence and the site where the country's rulers governed Poland for five centuries (1038-1596), this castle is a symbol of the independent Polish state and today contains a priceless collection of 16th-century Flemish tapestries, considered to be one of the largest in the world.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“nice castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

this is a nice castle the grounds and exterior look brand new so i am not sure exactly how much has been restored / re built to its original design. the interiors rooms are the part that i found most interesting, you can only go on a timed tour and i would prefer more leisurely time to wander round. some great tapestries on the walls. the outside of the castle itself down from the mound offer great photo opportunities. so if you are a bit pushed for cash at least walk round it rather than going in. try and get their early they have only so many tickets sold each day and some days can get very busy if not full, so i was told.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    789
    259
    51
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“I love Castles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A picture postcard of a Castle. Reminded me of the one in chatty chatty bang bang! The place is spotless and clean building lines, impressive and mixed history. Go there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Full of little gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had no real idea what to expect. Bought all inclusive ticket at very reasonable £8 per head ( seniors!). Two timed entries - royal apartments so beautifully presented, smelt wonderful as well - no idea why! Excellent guide who put Polish monarchy/ history into perspective. Then saw Leonardo painting - Lady with the Ermine in almost empty room - what a treat. Biggest surprise was The Lost Wawel - the most beautifully presented exhibition of the early foundations of the castle. We spent over 4 hours on the castle alone. Extra bonus was the coffe in the information centre where you buy tickets - great value and lovely views.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The outside of the castle does not do justice to what you find on the inside an extreme amount of money has been spent on restoration to return it to its former glory I would recommend the armoury and you only pay for what you want to see there is a Japanese art collection what that has to do with the I don't know but give it a visit and again more staff than exhibits never let it be said the polish are under staffed.
Jimmy Slater (Sheffield)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent hours here just wandering around. Such an interesting place. We didn't visit any the exhibitions but just soaked up the wonderful atmosphere and sunshine. Some of the ticketed exhibitions were free we went , but there was quite a queue for the cathedral as we were there just as it opened after a service. You don't pay to visit the castle grounds themselves. Plenty of eating places, quite reasonably priced and the usual gift shop. The Post Office for those cards is a bonus. Even a cash machine. Great views across the river. Some steps at top of slope coming from the west, no steps coming up the slope at the east side- also a few steps inside but a great deal- in fact most- was accessible to my husband who uses a mobility scooter! Good clean toilet facilities.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wawel Royal Castle also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Wawel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawel Royal Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.