We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Castle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wawel Royal Castle

Wawel Royal Castle
Wawel 5, Krakow 31-001 , Poland
+48 12 422 51 55
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wawel Royal Castle like an insider
Private Tour
$16*
and up
Private Tour: Krakow City Highlights Tour
Ranked #11 of 233 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Serving as a royal residence and the site where the country's rulers governed Poland for five centuries (1038-1596), this castle is a symbol of the independent Polish state and today contains a priceless collection of 16th-century Flemish tapestries, considered to be one of the largest in the world.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The view of the river from outside the castle is breath taking, especially on the beautiful day we were lucky enough to be there. The fire breathing dragon is not to be missed. The castle itself and grounds are very well kept and strolling around was very relaxing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,300
    813
    266
    52
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Da Vinci painting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Wawel on a gloriously sunny day and were charmed by its beauty. We visited were the Da Vinci painting of The Lady With The Ermine and were not disappointed. It is stunning and a highlight of our trip. We also had a tour of the private apartments by a most charming guide who brought it to life for us.
The open air café provided us with very good coffee and cake so we were altogether charmed with the place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Historic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited Wawel Castle in October. Very historic, many good views over the Vistula river. Excellent for photographers,very steep in parts. There is a cafe on site and small present shops selling cups, cards. Some parts you have to pay to enter, the fee is small. The castle is just on the fringe of the centre, off the main square, Rynek Glowny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice castle but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

On a recent visit to Krakow we visited the Wawel Royal Castle, can't say we were overly struck by it. It's a nice enough castle but not as impressive as some we have been to, the castles at Budapest and Prague are far far more impressive. We took a guided tour and yes there were the usual old things to look at, armour painting tapestry's but nothing really jumped out at you and made you go wow, the exhibitions are nicely laid out and worth a visit. All in all worth a visit but the castle isn't what it's made out to be, at the end of the day this is my view and other people might think it deserves better.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A full half day required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Castle, cathedral and lovely grounds all located on Wawel Hill so recommend at least half a day to enjoy the sites. Various admissions for different rooms within the castle but worth noting there is one day when the admission is free - check the web site but I believe Monday's were free when we visited. Be sure to pick up a copy of the tourist guide "Krakow in your pocket" (usually found in your hotel room) to read up on a bit of the history of the Hill, Castle and Cathedral.222

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wawel Royal Castle also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Wawel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawel Royal Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.