We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wawel Royal Castle

Wawel Royal Castle
Wawel 5, Krakow 31-001 , Poland
+48 12 422 51 55
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wawel Royal Castle like an insider
Private Tour
$16*
and up
Private Tour: Krakow City Highlights Tour
Ranked #11 of 226 things to do in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Serving as a royal residence and the site where the country's rulers governed Poland for five centuries (1038-1596), this castle is a symbol of the independent Polish state and today contains a priceless collection of 16th-century Flemish tapestries, considered to be one of the largest in the world.
Morayshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Castle views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A beautiful view of the city from the castle,
its free to walk into the grounds and wander but there are sections you will need to pay to get in and see. tickets bought at entrance to castle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,268
    793
    259
    51
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been to many castles, and this complex (complete with a fire-breathing dragon) holds up with the best of them. I visited twice - and was interested to note that it is used by residents for weddings, receptions, etc. and is so much more than just a historical site.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Krakow most famous landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wawel Castle gives you enough material for some pretty photos to take home. Entrance to some of the castle exhibitions are free on Monday but you must go early because the number of tickets is limited.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berks
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was told not to miss a visit to the castle. Was like getting into Fort Knox. Had to put plastic bags over our shoes and walk through security scanners. We were walked through several large rooms without furniture and large paintings on the walls. Really did not understand what all the fuss was about!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the castle and the cathedral. The grounds and architecture are simply stunning!
You can purchase everything separately so you can spend as much or little as you like.
We seen the state rooms, dragons den and the crown treasury and armory. We also wanted to see the royal private apartments but would have had to wait around four hours, so advice would be to visit early in the morning!

We decided not to take a tour, and in hindsight I wish we had. Whilst I really enjoyed visiting the castle and taking in the beauty and atmosphere there was very little information in the castle. Information was available about specific paintings or furniture (when it was built) there was no real history, but and again this is why I wish we had taken a tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wawel Royal Castle also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Wawel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawel Royal Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.