We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hear the trumpet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Market Square

Main Market Square
Center of Old Town, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$18*
and up
Private Tour: Krakow City Highlights Tour
Ranked #2 of 247 things to do in Krakow
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Huge 10-acre square, the largest in any of Europe's medieval cities, features the 16th-century Renaissance Cloth Hall and the splendid 14th-century Gothic Basilica of the Virgin Mary.
Venray
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hear the trumpet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Every full hour 24 hours a day, a trumpetist will play a unfinished musicpart from four corners of the belltower of the big church at the square. It is to remember that long time ago a soldier blew his horn to worn the citizens for the upcoming enemy.bwhile playing, he was killed by an arrow, but the army could save the town.
Since then they play every hour this unfinished song.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,923
    1,394
    135
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Take a stroll through the square. Lots to photograph, eat, and drink! At night it can be a little scary but I had no issues.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amber good value in cloth hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I wanted to buy some amber and found a lovely stall (there are lots of them) selling amber. I bought a silver ring with amber stone for £17 and a pair of silver amber earrings for £10.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BE CAREFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Myself and my fiance visited Poland on Jan 28th 2014 for 2 Nights.

at 2.30am on the 29th Jan 2014 we were "arrested" on the Square for apparently stealing someones jacket. now i know we did not because we had never saw this jacket, let alone take one from the bar we were in (A Karaoke Bar, when we left The Irish mBassy), my issue is not with that, however more the way it was handled and the fact that we ourselves were the ones robbed.

The Polish Police:

REFUSED to let us call the Embassy,
REFUSED to let us call a lawyer,
REFUSED to even let us a make a phone call to anyone
REFUSED a drink of water for over 16hours
A MALE Stripped search my 25yr old female fiance with other males in the room
They Beat me up.
They stole 750 PLZ and further made me withdraw another 800PLZ otherwise they would send us back to jail
We were forced to sign a confession sheet for a crime we did not commit otherwise we would be beaten up and sent back to jail
We were given a 3 year suspended jail sentence

We were not allowed to even give a statement of what we thought had happened. and our interpreter was constantly lying to us about what was being said, and being written down.

I feel our situation was handled so poorly! but i don't think i have a leg to stand on really as we HAD to sign a form to say we were guilty just so we could be let out of jail :(

What made it worse, is when we asked if the person who's jacket "we stole" was found, we were told yes, and everything was in it, Wallet, Money everything. so why were we arrested and charged??

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautful even in the snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived in Krakow and was greeted with Snow! The main square looked beautiful and i can imagine it looking even better in Summer. There are many restaurants/bars situated all around the square. You can eat/drink inside or outside (they have heaters). We found it too cold to sit outside. We saw horse drawn carriages on the square, unsure how much they are to ride. You don't realise how big the square is until you visit it. As it had been snowing, they were shoveling the snow into heaps on the side of the main walkways. Unlike the UK, all public transport kept moving rather than coming to a standstill due to the snow, maybe we need to learn from these guys. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Market Square also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Main Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.