We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous market Square.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Market Square

Main Market Square
Center of Old Town, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 135 attractions in Krakow
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Huge 10-acre square, the largest in any of Europe's medieval cities, features the 16th-century Renaissance Cloth Hall and the splendid 14th-century Gothic Basilica of the Virgin Mary.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous market Square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best markets I was ever at. The weekend market is full of fabulous value, character and entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,176
    874
    79
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Rynek - THE place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

So much has already been written about this place, so I will not even try to sum it all up. I'm just happy that Rynek Główny is growing as one of the highest rated and with everyday more famous public spaces in the world. It was the matter of time after all :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b,ham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“To commercialized not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you want to see the real krakow then give this a miss . It's alright for a lunch time and to say you have been but not what we were here for . The square has bars all the way around and all have the same large white umberellas with there menus out side infact it looks like I large bar or restraunt only divided by small fences the food we had was ok still cheaper than home but was nothing special . Nothing to write home about. It's ok if you like to look at people going about there every day life and street entertainers a 7 ft grip reaper looked out of place and then the peace and quiet was ruined by 6 lads doing street dancing to some loud rap music from some ghetto blaster luckily they were only there 5 mins . If you want to see the real krakow head to the Jewish quarter down the little side streets here there are small little bars cafés restraunts all brimming with atmosphere . We found this small bar just from were we were stoping on the Monday night and there was a swing night in there ( not that type) most of the people were late 20 early 30 and they were all dancing to the music then some polish guy got a mike and starting singing frank Sinatra songs he was excellent . It was a real good night and cheap I had large polish beer and wife a 200 ml tonic water £2,00 or 10 zloty. We went back Tuesday night but there was nothing on that night so had one beer and moved on but there are loads of places to go give the square a miss it's not all that it's made out to be

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Lovely place to sit and enjoy a drink or to browse local produce in the market stalls. The weather was nice considering time of year we were there but I can just imagine having a beer there in the height of summer sometime.

Centrally located with lots of nice bars on the square and a number of cheaper options just off the main area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Everthing you would expect and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful medieval market square with a variety of activities night and day. Cafes, flower vendors, buskers, ballroom dancing.....If you notice everyone standing around in anticipation at the top of every hour, it is likely to hear the bugle call played from the high tower of St. Mary's Church. The call ends abruptly and legend tells that a 13th century watchman was shot by an arrow in the middle of his bugling.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Market Square also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Main Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Main Market Square to your Saves list