We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Museum - A Must Visit !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Al. 3 Maja 1, Krakow 30-062, Poland
+48 12 433 55 00
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 125 attractions in Krakow
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This history museum features a permanent collection of 20th-century Polish art, including the priceless collections from the Young Poland period, and exhibits of decorative art, Polish arms and army uniforms.
essex, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum - A Must Visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a brilliant museum and despite visiting in August it was virtually empty ! Seems as though ,as it is situated about 15 minutes walk from the main square, lots of tourists appear to give it a miss. My advice - don't - go there - it is one of the best museums I have ever been in and was one of my (many) highlights of my visit to Krakow.
There are three floors of permanenant exibits plus other special exhibitions which you have to pay an additional entrance fee to see.
You could easily spend a whole day here to fully appreciate what is here. If you have a spare few hours then get along - even the kids will enjoy trying on the old military uniforms and the helmets. This 'kid' in his forties certainly did !
Add this museum to your 'must do' list when visiting Krakow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Several museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The national museum is actually several museums. I was in Sukiennice (upper floor) for the 19th century art, the Gallery with the 20th century art, the Mehoffer Manor and Jan Matejko home. Each was distinct and special in their own way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral England
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great museum, free on Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This museum is huge and covers 3 floors, it is free on Sunday for the permanent exhibits. Ground floor covers Polish history up to the present time. Lots of uniforms, weapons and medals. First floor covers decorative art so this section is huge as it covers gold items, silverware, pewter, clothing, furniture, ceramics, clocks, in fact anything that can have a pattern put on it. Third floor is art through the ages and I found it rather confusing to get around as there are so many side rooms but got around all that we wanted to see. Great for a visit, need about 2-3 hours depending on how much you want to look at.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the exhibits here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was about a 15 minute walk for me. I enjoyed my visit, especially the paintings. I think it was free the day I went, so if you are looking for fun things to do for free, check their calendar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vanity Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very interesting exhibition however the the cashier should probably change the job.
There aren't too many pictures thus it's great for a person like me who doesn't like spending hours in the museums.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added National Museum to your Saves list