We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Museum - A Must Visit !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Al. 3 Maja 1, Krakow 30-062, Poland
+48 12 433 55 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Museum like an insider
$28*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Pass
Ranked #68 of 233 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This history museum features a permanent collection of 20th-century Polish art, including the priceless collections from the Young Poland period, and exhibits of decorative art, Polish arms and army uniforms.
essex, england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum - A Must Visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a brilliant museum and despite visiting in August it was virtually empty ! Seems as though ,as it is situated about 15 minutes walk from the main square, lots of tourists appear to give it a miss. My advice - don't - go there - it is one of the best museums I have ever been in and was one of my (many) highlights of my visit to Krakow.
There are three floors of permanenant exibits plus other special exhibitions which you have to pay an additional entrance fee to see.
You could easily spend a whole day here to fully appreciate what is here. If you have a spare few hours then get along - even the kids will enjoy trying on the old military uniforms and the helmets. This 'kid' in his forties certainly did !
Add this museum to your 'must do' list when visiting Krakow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Several museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The national museum is actually several museums. I was in Sukiennice (upper floor) for the 19th century art, the Gallery with the 20th century art, the Mehoffer Manor and Jan Matejko home. Each was distinct and special in their own way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral England
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great museum, free on Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This museum is huge and covers 3 floors, it is free on Sunday for the permanent exhibits. Ground floor covers Polish history up to the present time. Lots of uniforms, weapons and medals. First floor covers decorative art so this section is huge as it covers gold items, silverware, pewter, clothing, furniture, ceramics, clocks, in fact anything that can have a pattern put on it. Third floor is art through the ages and I found it rather confusing to get around as there are so many side rooms but got around all that we wanted to see. Great for a visit, need about 2-3 hours depending on how much you want to look at.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the exhibits here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was about a 15 minute walk for me. I enjoyed my visit, especially the paintings. I think it was free the day I went, so if you are looking for fun things to do for free, check their calendar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Vanity Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very interesting exhibition however the the cashier should probably change the job.
There aren't too many pictures thus it's great for a person like me who doesn't like spending hours in the museums.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.