We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do you expect for £12 a night b&b to be fair!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Start

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Start to your Saves list
Hotel Start
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ulica Kapelanka 60, Krakow 30-047 , Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
midlands
1 review
“what do you expect for £12 a night b&b to be fair!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

liked the history of the place still had some padded doors and door cage by the resturant, breakfast ok, although being vegan i ate salad but expect this most places, ok for veggies or meat eaters, tv did work, but polish channels, well we were in poland, staff very friendly, room clean, was in room 107, was a lot better than expected. location was ok we got the 19 (and 18) tram from opposite tesco you will have to cross the tram line to get into the centre, this was 2.80 zloty from hotel, get off at the subway with the big yellow aviva sign i think. may try somewhere else next time only due to having more people and travel will cost more. would def recomend for 4 or less people, just dont expect to have 4 star accomodation!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    24
    12
    45
See reviews for
9
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The beds have no mattresses only a 5cm deep piece of foam attached to a board!
My husband's sheet had a hospital logo on it.
I have been in better one-star hotels.
It was part of a Thomas Cook short break and their info about the "hotel" is not correct.
We have complained to Thomas Cook and they were not really interested. They could not be bothered to send us a voucher; even a token £10 would have been nice.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Don't bring your lady friend. Only the first floor appears to be cleanish, the other 4 floors looks like it operated as a doss house. We drove it 3 times to build up enough nerve to go in. Receptionist won us round and we stayed. Room basic but clean. Nice hard beds but glad we left at 6 in morning. Tesco next door very convenient. Needs gutting before I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Come fellow travelors why book a hotel that cost £48 for 3 nights and expect it to be perfect, yes the windows were dirty, yes it looked like a proper dump from the outside, and yes the hotel bar felt like you were sat in a Gas Chamber, But the positives the beds are clean and are changed daily and the ensuite shower and toilets worked fine and were very clean, the hotel also have very strict policy on groups of lads makeing noise after 23.00 (which I had first hand experience of too many vodka's), the hotel is approx 10 min taxi ride away from the main square at a cost of £6 and 20 mins from airport at a cost of £20, there is also a 24hr Tesco next door which is fantastic stocking up on toiletries etc, PLEASE NOTE DONT BOOK FOR A ROMANTIC BREAK, ALL THE NEGATIVE POSTS ON HERE NEED TO GET THEIR HANDS IN THEIR POCKETS AND SOME WERE BETTER!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, merseyside
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

old communist block style building. can't imagine it functioning as a psychiatric hospital in its hey days. decided to stay there cos i am a psychiatrist. not the prettiest of hotels but it serves its function if you are not fussy about all the fine trimmings and you want somewhere clean and comfy. stayed on the ground floor in a twin room. no refreshments. room cleaned daily. shower good but bathroom small and a bit cramped. breakfast average. hotel staff very helpful and friendly. 24 hour tesco next door. bus and tram stops within 2 minutes walk. takes 10 min to get into the centre or 45 mins if you are feeling upto to walking. despite 2 stag groups staying there it was remarkably quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywere but hotel start
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

they made kids mop up the hotel at 2 in the mornin. i wonder why. looks awfully lyk wiskas. llf. inside joke.
neway really crap hotel.
Carpets Harbour Wildlyf
Beds r solid tvs dont work
and windows havnt been cleaned since the days of stalin

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

arrived friday night so the building from the outside and thought it was still an institute not a hotel. entered the building reception was ok girl behind desk very friendly thought it might not be so bad after all. was given our room key and of we went must say what i saw did not surprise me the bedroom looked the same quality as the outside of the building.the curtains didnt meet in the middle so they could not be drawn one end of the curtain was attached to the curtain rail with string.the two single beds might as well have been mattereses on the floor they were that low. dont know who cleans the rooms but they need to start moving things and cleaning under them a dirty tissue was still under one of the beds. i certainly would not recommend this hotel if thats what you can call it to a single person i would suggest they stay in a hostel as this would be more comfortable.my husband feels so guilty cos he bought me the trip as a christmas present bless him i will just make him pay for the error. only joking ha ha ha.not joking about the condition of the hotel if you are thinking of staying there please think again most visitors to the start will tell you the same.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Start

Address: Ulica Kapelanka 60, Krakow 30-047 , Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Start 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Start reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Start Krakow
Start Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Start, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.