We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius

Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius
Jagiellonska 15, Krakow 31-010, Poland (Stare Miasto)
48 12 422 05 49
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$28*
and up
Sightseeing Bike Tour of Krakow
Ranked #27 of 247 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: First founded in 1364, this integral part of Krakow life has many distinguished alumni including distinguished Polish intellectuals, political leaders and well-known international figures like Nicolaus Copernicus and Pope John Paul II. The Collegium Maius is the oldest surviving building of the university.
Basel
Level Contributor
221 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Set around a lovely courtyard, this 15th century university building makes for a fascinating visit, especially if you have an interest in astronomy. Items relating to Copernicus are a highlight along with the world's oldest globe showing North America, roughly where Antarctica is, from the early part of the sixteenth century. The interiors are also very beautiful. On display are old scientific instruments and precious gold plus college silver, pewter and a selection of donated awards including an Oscar and a Nobel medal. Our guide was extremely good, interesting without labored explanations.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    157
    31
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In appreciation of The Collegium Maius, and of Ms. Anna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Krakow boasts innumerable museums, churches and nice buildings, all within easy walking distance from the huge central square, the Rynek Glowny. Just 200m down Sw. Anny street you find Collegium Maius, the old University building as rebuilt after the 1492 fire. The University itself dates back to 1364.

We were twice lucky: first we booked by chance the 13:00 tour, the long tour that is organized only once a day, and we were welcomed and guided around by Ms. Anne Lohn, a very knowledgeable art historian, in impeccable English, and her German is even better.

500 years ago the professors not only worked but also lived within the walls of the University. We were taken through stately rooms, rooms that are still used today for special occasions, and some private rooms where the professors lived. Hundreds of portraits of professors and benefactors looked upon us from the walls while we walked around admiring the furniture and the precious objects and instruments, all presented in a pleasing way, and with bilingual labels.

Then another door swung open leading to a series of smaller rooms with the university’s collection of scientific instruments, one subject per room: physics, geography, chemistry, alchemy, astronomy, optics and many others. This is only visited during the long tour. A real treat for those with an interest in science. Ancient instruments are certainly also works of art.

And before or after the visit have a coffee in the vaulted cellars!

Do not miss this 5-star highlight of Krakow.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“History buffs will love Collegium Maius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the oldest universities in Europe and well worth a visit. We were lucky enough to arrive just before the 1pm English tour. The guide was a bit reserved but excellent and quite professional. You can find much more information at their website - www.maius.uj.edu.pl - so I won't elaborate on all the things to see. Copernicus studied here so that should give you an idea of how old this unique university is! By the way, there's a really great little restaurant around the corner at ul. Sw. Amy 3 where you can select from an amazing variety of Polish food. It is called "Chimera" and I have reviewed it if you would like to have more information. But don't miss the university! We visited October 21st 2013.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great tour... If you know what you are doing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all it is hard to find this place as there is really nothing announcing it. Then you go in the courtyard and try to find the place to buy tickets (all the signs pointed the wrong way when we visited! The ticket counter is directly across the courtyard). But the real trick is to know to show up as close to 10 am when they open and buy tickets for the 1 pm tour. This tour is twice as long as the normal tour and takes you through the scientific halls of the museum. Only 15 tickets are sold for this tour as opposed to the 45 or so crammed into the short tour. Seeing all of the fascinating relicts so up close and personal is a rare treat and you really feel privileged to participate in the experience. Truly a hidden gem for the patient and determined traveler.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Funded by King and Queen its traditions are ancient. We saw the beautiful main lecture hall, the Senate's meeting room/library, the treasures ancient and new, the professors' rooms including that of Copernicus complete with his original ancient equipment. The guide was exceptionally clear, distinct, with perfect English and very willing to answer questions. On the whole an extraordinary visit which I would have missed but for some advice I got before leaving home.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.