We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great tour... If you know what you are doing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius

Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius
Jagiellonska 15, Krakow 31-010, Poland (Stare Miasto)
48 12 422 05 49
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 135 attractions in Krakow
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: First founded in 1364, this integral part of Krakow life has many distinguished alumni including distinguished Polish intellectuals, political leaders and well-known international figures like Nicolaus Copernicus and Pope John Paul II. The Collegium Maius is the oldest surviving building of the university.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great tour... If you know what you are doing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all it is hard to find this place as there is really nothing announcing it. Then you go in the courtyard and try to find the place to buy tickets (all the signs pointed the wrong way when we visited! The ticket counter is directly across the courtyard). But the real trick is to know to show up as close to 10 am when they open and buy tickets for the 1 pm tour. This tour is twice as long as the normal tour and takes you through the scientific halls of the museum. Only 15 tickets are sold for this tour as opposed to the 45 or so crammed into the short tour. Seeing all of the fascinating relicts so up close and personal is a rare treat and you really feel privileged to participate in the experience. Truly a hidden gem for the patient and determined traveler.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    97
    21
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Funded by King and Queen its traditions are ancient. We saw the beautiful main lecture hall, the Senate's meeting room/library, the treasures ancient and new, the professors' rooms including that of Copernicus complete with his original ancient equipment. The guide was exceptionally clear, distinct, with perfect English and very willing to answer questions. On the whole an extraordinary visit which I would have missed but for some advice I got before leaving home.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Did not wait for the guided tour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I arrived here early on our last day. We walked through the courtyard and were very impressed. It's so beautiful and just the thought that this is one of Europe's oldest seats of learning, educating Copernicus no less, was astounding.

We went to buy tickets for the guided tour but were told that the next tour was not for over an hour. 'Never mind' we though, we'll buy tickets, have a look around and then join the tour when it began. However, we were told that we could not have a look around unless with a tour. Again we thought, 'Never mind' we'll stroll around the Cloth Hall, do a little shopping and come back. The sales assistant then said that there probably wouldn't be any tickets left if we did that.

I know she probably wanted us to buy tickets before we left so we didn't miss out, but we were not sure where Krakow would take us that morning and so the trip left us feeling a little disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worthwhile destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As an entering student into the Jagiellonian University for one semester, this was exciting for me.
The ceilings were by far my favorite. The geometry of the bricks and the painted scenes in the ceiling made for a gorgeous combination.
Our guide spoke pleasant English and gave us all enough time to take pictures where we were allowed and to browse at our leisure.

Make sure you spot the Oscar amongst the Collegium's collection!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had read nothing about this attraction and went because my spouse wished to. It was great. Seeped in history. We had a great guide. It always intrigues me to learn how much was going on in Europe when America was a wilderness.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius to your Saves list