We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius

Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius
Jagiellonska 15, Krakow 31-010, Poland (Stare Miasto)
48 12 422 05 49
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Small-Group Krakow Old Town Walking Tour...
Ranked #17 of 120 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: First founded in 1364, this integral part of Krakow life has many distinguished alumni including distinguished Polish intellectuals, political leaders and well-known international figures like Nicolaus Copernicus and Pope John Paul II. The Collegium Maius is the oldest surviving building of the university.
Cork,
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Funded by King and Queen its traditions are ancient. We saw the beautiful main lecture hall, the Senate's meeting room/library, the treasures ancient and new, the professors' rooms including that of Copernicus complete with his original ancient equipment. The guide was exceptionally clear, distinct, with perfect English and very willing to answer questions. On the whole an extraordinary visit which I would have missed but for some advice I got before leaving home.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    130
    26
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Did not wait for the guided tour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I arrived here early on our last day. We walked through the courtyard and were very impressed. It's so beautiful and just the thought that this is one of Europe's oldest seats of learning, educating Copernicus no less, was astounding.

We went to buy tickets for the guided tour but were told that the next tour was not for over an hour. 'Never mind' we though, we'll buy tickets, have a look around and then join the tour when it began. However, we were told that we could not have a look around unless with a tour. Again we thought, 'Never mind' we'll stroll around the Cloth Hall, do a little shopping and come back. The sales assistant then said that there probably wouldn't be any tickets left if we did that.

I know she probably wanted us to buy tickets before we left so we didn't miss out, but we were not sure where Krakow would take us that morning and so the trip left us feeling a little disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worthwhile destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As an entering student into the Jagiellonian University for one semester, this was exciting for me.
The ceilings were by far my favorite. The geometry of the bricks and the painted scenes in the ceiling made for a gorgeous combination.
Our guide spoke pleasant English and gave us all enough time to take pictures where we were allowed and to browse at our leisure.

Make sure you spot the Oscar amongst the Collegium's collection!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had read nothing about this attraction and went because my spouse wished to. It was great. Seeped in history. We had a great guide. It always intrigues me to learn how much was going on in Europe when America was a wilderness.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Highlight of the Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

You go back in time and see/feel/smell the centuries of tradition. Great to see the interiors and: where else can you see in the same display cabinet the nobel prize medal for literature(Wisława Szymborska) next to an Oscar statue (Andrzej Waida) next to an Olympic Gold medal (Robert Korzeniowski)?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagiellonian University - Collegium Maius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.