We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Trip to Kracow.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Francuski

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Francuski to your Saves list
Hotel Francuski
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Pijarska Street, Krakow 31-015, Poland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“1st Trip to Kracow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends who had been here previously. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good English spoken. We were not offered. Menu for Hot Breakfast had to ask. Varied choice and tasty. Room spacious and bed very comfy. Kettle and cups provided but no sachets of tea etc. but I always carry my own.Mini market close by. Excellent location for all amenities. If you like music recitals I would certainly recommend the ones in St Peter&Paul's & St Adelbert's Church in the Square. Be very careful when exchanging money in the Booths when you receive your cash always check you have been given the proper rate. I was short changed 80 zlots and did not get it returned.The board advertised 310 zl.for the $ and I was given 233 , thanks to my keen eyed friend noticing the discrepancy in his exchange I managed to retrieve another $100 that I had handed over, but he was able together his £'s refunded as it was the last transaction. Steer clear of INTERCHANGE POLSKA, RYNEK GLOWNY 39/40.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    87
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
92
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bonnybridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my fourth time staying at this hotel. I was on a b/b basis but was not offered choice of hot breakfast. We only knew of it on our second morning because we saw someone else being served an omelette. The next morning we asked for a hot breakfast and were only offered scrambled eggs or an omelette. It was on third morning I asked for a menu and was astounded to see the choices. It was then removed when i had made my choice. I would think it would be a good idea to have this menu on show for guests. On my previous visits tea and coffee was available in the room. What is the point of a kettle and cups and nothing to make it with. Surely if this is a 4 star it would be expected to have tea and coffee facilities. In the hotels favour it is an excellent location and staff are friendly and helpful and I do hope that they finish the decorating of the dining room in time for the summer season as no one would want to eat in it in the state it is in at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is very much a hotel reflecting a bye gone era. It was built early in the 20th century. It is perfectly situated near the centre of Krakow , close to all the attractions and restaurants, but with easy access to the railway station for buses or trains to the airport. It has a splendid hall and grand staircase, the rooms are spacious and airy, the bathroom fittings were old fashioned but in keeping with the general style of the place. One annoying thing I found was poor water pressure for bath/shower and slightly low basin with an unmovable central tap. Kettle and cups provided but not tea or coffee. Staff were very polite and extremely helpful. Breakfast was disappointing in the choice of food available, service for coffee and tea a bit on the slow side. Main plus is the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you are looking for a modern impersonal western style hotel with sauna, pool and gym this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for a traditional serene quiet efficient genteel hotel stay here. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are a little quirky but spotless and the public rooms are grand. The hotel boasts a very attractive sweeping staircase in reception which gives the feeling of the grand old days. Breakfast has a wide choice, I had savoury pancakes with bacon and cheese with were done specially by the chef and were delicious, a cold buffet is also available with polish cheeses and meats. The Staff were excellent and very pleasant, stay there and get the feeling of Krakow as it was in the 1930s.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a wonderful 4 nights in the hotel, an old hotel that brings back traditional service. The staircases, red carpets and large rooms makes it feel rather grand in an old-world way. We had a suite which had plenty of room for us. Location was brilliant, a very quick walk to the main square. Staff were very friendly and amenable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in December, and was very happy with the hotel in general. the service was very good, and the common rooms with fireplace on both ground floor, and 1st floor was a nice place to retreat from the winter cold. The room was also nice, but felt a little dusty with its large "antique" curtains and carpets. It was clean, but if you get some allergic reactions to dust (like me) you might want to consider checking which room you get first.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here, close to the main square but still in a quite street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Francuski on a recent city break to Krakow, all I can really say is FANTASTIC, an old fashioned hotel where they know how to treat a person. The hotel is just inside the old city wall (not there anymore) but in the prefect position for exploring Krakow as well as the old town, we had a suite while we were there which was very comfortable. When you step into the Francuski it's like stepping back in time, the hotel is full of old world charms which have been well maintained. The staff are very helpful and friendly which always makes your stay even more enjoyable, we were B/B and I read a comment from some staying if you didn't ask for the hot breakfast menu you didn't get it, we found this not so, every morning we went down it was a different waiter and everyday we were offered a hot breakfast menu as well as the cold buffet. If anyone is thinking of visiting Krakow I would have no problem highly recommending the Francuski. I would also highly recommend Boguslaw Stachurski who runs www.airporttransfers.pl absolutely fantastic, friendly, honest and reliable. All in all a great time in Krakow.

Room Tip: We stay in 208 with is a suite with balcony double aspect living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Francuski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francuski

Address: 13 Pijarska Street, Krakow 31-015, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#43 Family Hotel in Krakow
#65 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francuski 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French hotel is located in historic centre of Krakow, opposite The Princes Czartoryski Museum, few meters from the old city walls and the Barbakan. Within easy reach there are many galleries, jewelry stores and during tourist season - also a bazaar with works of art, presented by the old defensive wall. Whole French Hotel is filled with old elegance what is already evident upon entering the lobby and impressive staircase with columns. It is the oldest building in Krakow erected immediately as a hotel - was opened in 1912. Interior is influenced by the popular at that time an art deco style. The rooms and suites are decorated with wallpapers, pictures, and graphics showing former Krakow, as well as solid, stylized furniture. The bathrooms are comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. Some suites may be combined, by which the hotel is recognised among traveling families. Listening to a clock beating in the lobby or sipping tea in a cafe, you can travel in imagination hundred years to the past. The building is famous for almost a hundred years of its restaurant serving delicious Polish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Francuski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbis Francuski Krakow Hotel Krakow
Orbis Francuski Hotel Krakow
Krakow Orbis Francuski Hotel
Hotel Francuski Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Francuski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.