We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 4.Friends Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 4.Friends Hostel to your Saves list
4.Friends Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   ul. 28 lipca 8a, Krakow 30-233, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't go there they are cheaters! Dirty & awful place!!!! Mountains of garbage in the living room, old dishware, small dirty rooms with damaged electricity and showers. The only plus is good location, quite neighbourhood, free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The facilities at 4Friends Hostel were clean and functional - which is just what we wanted for the price. The service however was very high quality. The location was perfect - away from the bustle of the city but just a 15 minute bus ride into the centre of Krakow (2.48 zty if my memory is correct).

The hostel team were extremely helpful and gave us some great tips about which buses would take us to various locations, they advised us on other paid excursions and successfully made the bookings on our behalf. They also allowed us to keep our car parked in one of their private spaces during the final day of our trip, after we'd checked out.

A great place for a no-frills stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights at 4Friends and had a great time. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The reception is 24hr and always willing to help. The weather was really hot and when we were out for the day they put a fridge in our room. Because of the heat staff went out to buy more fans.
Magda on reception booked our trips and gave us advice about what to see and do in our short visit. She was a great receptionist and always willing to help.
Theres a good selection for breakfast and tea & coffee through the day. The bus stop is a couple of minutes walk away and there is a small super market over the road.
When we stayed there were a group of school children and their teachers on a trip. They were out all day but became a little noisy when they returned early evening however they were asleep by 10pm and well behaved.
There was a good mix of different people. We met one man in his 40's who was a single traveller. He said this was the best hostel he had stayed in and we agree. There were a couple of families as well as travellers and backpackers of different nationalities.
The hostel was having work done and by the end of our stay they had built a lovely new extension to the out door seating area. It was finished when we left so anyone who stays in the future will have more places to chose from when sitting out side.
We didn't experience one of the 4Friends BBQ's however their garden area is perfect for one with plenty of tables and chairs, the BBQ is really big and in the middle of the garden so everyone can sit around. There is also the resident dog, she is really well behaved and gentle.
This hostel is lovely and friendly. It has free internet on a little laptop in reception. 15mins on the bus to the Old Town. Its clean and comfortable. Perfect for anyone travelling on a budget. Lots of parking spaces if arriving by car.
The general feeling from the hostel is relaxed and chilled out. The staff are really easy going yet efficient.
We would love to stay at 4Friends again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe double and were located at the top. There are plenty of pictures on the inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Pluses:
Great low cost. Helpfull and friendly staff. Nice breakfast included. Near public transport, but in a nice quiet neighborhood. Variety of rooms to accomidate different sized groups. Place was very clean. Private bathroom for every room.

Minuses:
Our bed was quite poor, and gave both my wife and I backaches. Matresses in our kids' room were fine, however. Pillows were worst I have ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this hostel with a group of young people. We were warmly welcomed and looked after very well by the staff. The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful at all times. Breakfast was very good and the accommodation was everything we could have asked for. The hostel is 15 mins from the airport and 15 mins by bus from the centre of Krakow; there are plenty of shops, restaurants and fast food outlets nearby. We all enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

me and my two friends had a great two days in 4.friends hostel! the receptionist was so nice and kind... room was clean and tidy it had all the facilities that we needed. the hostel has a very nice location. first it seemed a bit far from city center but actually it's just 10 minutes by bus! and it's also very easy to reach from the airport... again just ten minutes by bus! breakfast was quite good as well... and one more time staff is very helpful! just a great place especially for that price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there with a couple of friends for three nights.

The hostel is located in a villa, with a comfortable living room and fireplace outside. In terms of décor, you will greatly enjoy this place if you like Ikea. Unless you have noisy guests, the place is very quiet.

The hostel serves a great breakfast - the staff is incredibly friendly and flexible. They also keep a hostel dog.

In terms of location, it is worthwhile noting that the hostel lies in the periphery of the city. While there is sufficient transportation (e.g. bus line 152), it does take longer than 10 minutes (as stated by previous reviewers) - maybe 15-20 minutes - to get to the city centre, particularly when you need to wait for the bus. Taxi to the railway station should take about 10 minutes and cost 20 pln on average.

Overall, this is a highly recommended hostel, particularly for seminars/workshops or families that prefer a quiet place and are willing to take a slightly longer trip to get into town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hostel Faust
#166 of 248 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Lwowska26 Hostel
#131 of 328 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Półwsie Zwierzynieckie
Okay House
Okay House
#20 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deco Hostel
#73 of 328 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
One World Hostel
One World Hostel
#41 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Pillows Party Hostel
#44 of 328 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4.Friends Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4.Friends Hostel

Address: ul. 28 lipca 8a, Krakow 30-233, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 328 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 4.Friends Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 4.Friends Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4.Friends Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.