We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slodki Wentzl

Slodki Wentzl
Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-000, Poland
+48 12 430 26 64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 932 Restaurants in Krakow
Cuisines: Polish, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was excellent and the hostess made me, a solo traveler, feel most welcome. Decorations a bit over the top with pheasants perched on the lighting fixtures, but a solid menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    20
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for coffee and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

With it being located on the main square, I expected this place to be expensive and touristy, but to my surprise, it turned out to be the perfect spot for late morning coffee and cake!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
237 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“I did not think it was possible to dine this well in Poland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I remember when we used to count on travel books being current and dependable. And they usually were not. Around dinnertime last night we used our mobile app for something nearby and we stumbled upon Wentzl.

OMG.

I did not think it was possible to dine this well in Poland. It was a truly upscale experience in high style and we are definitely foodies. Wentzl is not cheap so if you are looking for a meal on a shoestring budget you will need to go elsewhere but the quality was exceptional, the atmosphere lovely, the presentation outstanding and the waitstaff superb.

Wentzl is located on the mail Market Square in the Old Town and is on the second floor of the Wentzl Hotel. Although it might look stuffy at first, they welcome tourists to come as they are and although you may really be sitting there in your walking shoes, jeans and sweatshirt, you could swear you were wearing a tuxedo and dining among dignitaries in their Baroque dining room.

The wine list is not extensive but is servicable with a fine array of choices and I suspect all will be quite enjoyable. We chose a bottle of Malbec that was very nice and also a glass of Riesling that was said to be an outstanding match to the trout. The warm goat cheese salad was as good as it gets. Beef Wellington was a special and truly special at that. And the truffle cake was just to die for.

Plan to spend about 300 zl (USD 100) for a couple but it is one of those meals that will go on your short list of life's memorable culinary experiences!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a really great time at this restaurant. It was packed with a lively crowd, and the decor and ambiance was charming. The service was impeccable. We had delicious food and tried our first Polish wine which was outstanding (Adoria Pinot Noir). Our waitress was so sweet and attentive. This is an upscale restaurant and perfect if you want to splurge on a memorable meal in Krakow. Great location, right on the main square.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You walk into Galeria Krakowska, a huge four floor shopping mall right next to, and accesible from, Krakow Central Train Station and a bus terminal with transport to just about anywhere. Once in there, you see McDonald's, KFC, and lots of similar places. But where to go if you want to pamper yourself?
I walked around down the bottom floor and right near the center, saw what looked like an ice cream parlor with lots of fruit tortes in a display case. Didn't think much of that, what I was looking for was a traditional breakfast, so just in case, I asked. To my surprise, I was given a menu with everything I was looking for on it. I ordered a traditional Krakow breakfast, and was pleasantly surprised when the waiter arrived with a cappucino which was everything I could expect in my home, Italy, but not really here, in Krakow. Perfectly made. The bread was way up there quality wise, as well as everything else.
As I came through the mall regularly during business travels, this became 'my' spot for breakfast...and later, I saw they had a bar, too. Daiquiris, and everything else, including a few I'd never seen before anywhere. And everything - including the ice cream - of exceptional quality. Well worth a stop if you ever happen to find yourself in the Krakow Galeria!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slodki Wentzl also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Slodki Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slodki Wentzl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.