We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours

Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours
Os. Piastow 62 | Nowa Huta, Krakow 31-621, Poland
+48 504 091 617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 202 Activities in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Krakow-auschwitz provides services at the highest level. With us moving through southern Poland is a pure pleasure. Our major destinations are Auschwitz, Birkenau and Salt Mine in one day, Zakopane (Tatra Mountains), Wadowice, Częstochowa (The Black Madonna). What characterizes us is high class service full of hospitality and friendliness. We tailored to your individual needs
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tomasz was very punctual on picking us and was polite and friendly all day long.His english was excellent and he gave us lots of information about the area as well as the trip.He also arranged entry tickets and the venue tours on arrival so it was hassle free for us and only charged the exact price at booking for everything after we arrived back to our accommodation.
Auschwitz/Birkenau was a very interesting but harrowing experience which I think anybody will only want to see once in their lifetime.
The salt mines were something quite different with some beautiful carvings particularly in the chapel but if you dont like steps (only downwards) beware!
Krakow is a very beautiful place with lots to see with friendly people and we would definitely visit again and use Tomasz's services.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrakowThomas, Owner at Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgeable - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose to do the 1 day Auschwitz/Birkenau and Salt Mine tour as we were only in Krakow for 2 nights. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we went with Tomasz as the reviews were all very positive and he didn't disappoint. He was waiting for us in the lobby of our hotel and we had a good chat about Krakow and Auschwitz on the way to our first stop. Once there, he accompanied us to the screening room for a short documentary while he arranged our tickets and our guide. He even waited till our tour started to make sure our headsets were working and didn't require changing before heading to the carpark to wait till we finished. Once we were done, rather than jump on the shuttle bus with the others, he took us to Birkenau where we decided to cut our visit short and head over to the Salt Mine instead. Once there, he again organised our tickets and tour before waiting for us in the car again till we were done. A very nice and friendly chap and I would definitely use his service again if I were to return to Krakow. Thanks Tomasz.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrakowThomas, Owner at Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful & reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We tried with a few companies to book the 1 day trip to the salt mines and Auschwitz/ Birkenau but because it was short notice, they were all fully booked.
I then contacted Thomaz through Trip Advisor and he responded immediately. Thomaz advised us that he was fully booked but that Slawek could help. As we were actually en route to Krakow Thomaz texted us all the details including the prices and various options. By the time we reached Krakow the trip was booked.
On the Wednesday Slawek met us at our hotel the car was roomy and comfortable and on the way to Auschwitz Slawek explained the lay out for the day.

The visit to Auschwitz and Birkenau was harrowing ...my husband and I are glad we went, but this is something I would not choose to do again.
In stark contrast the Salt Mine was amazing.


At each stage Slawek arranged the tickets and the tour guide, he was knowledgeable about opening times, he waited in the car while we visited the places and at every stage we felt we could go at our own pace. We even had a choice of what we would like to do for lunch.

At the end of the day (about 7.30pm ) Slawek droped us back off at the hotel.

I would highly recommend this service.

Many Thanks to Thomaz and Slawek.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrakowThomas, Owner at Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience - Auschwitz/Birkenau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a trip we had wanted to do for some time but approached it with trepidation. The service offered by Thomasz was first class. He managed to get us through the queues and arrange a terrific guide. He was very friendly and gave us much information on Krakow and surrounding areas. The tour was incredibly moving. We were so pleased to see so many young people visiting one of the most important sites of recent history. We used Thomasz for our airport pick-up and return as well. He made everything easy and smooth. Krakow is a very vibrant and interesting city. Will return to see more and definitely use Thomasz again

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrakowThomas, Owner at Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
1 review
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Arrived at Krokow airport and, as promised, Slavic was waiting, with my name on his board, to collect us then straight onto the minibus to Auschwitz.
Slavic sorted everything for us and was waiting to transit us to Birkenau for the second part of tour. After the tour he dropped us off at our hotel door.
All very smooth and reasonably priced, can definitely recommend Auschwitz - Krakow Tours.
The tour of the two camps is harrowing at times but is needed to bring home the true horror of what occurred.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrakowThomas, Owner at Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krakow Auschwitz and Salt Mine - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.