We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep the change eh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Youmiko Sushi

Youmiko Sushi
7 Szczepanska Street | Entrance Next to Exchange Office, Krakow, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 421 26 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 897 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: We are a small establishment, seating up to 15, off market square, on szczepanska street, in the courtyard next to the exchange office. Our goal is to serve delicious food and make people happy in the process. Expect friendly athmosphere, not stuck-up staff, reasonable prices, not wallet crushing madness,chat us up, and You'll find that there is more to our sushi than the menu says.We have a BYOB policy, since we cannot sell acohol.
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Keep the change eh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Impossible place to find, in the back door of Krakow, closed on Mondays, but when it's open, you can eat a very quality sushi in the whole Poland.
The good thing is that you can decide how much you want to spend and what things you'd like to eat and the chef will make a menu for you.
The combination of flavours are not the traditional ones, so it makes it more interesting to try them.
Location is tiny, but the outside is wonderful and it has the good atmosphere.
Quality/price is super.
We can come back to Krakow just for this sushi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    45
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Personalized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The sushi was delicious, and the owner of the restaurant explained to us what each piece of sushi was as he made it for us. We simply gave him a price and he gave us some great sushi for what we were willing to pay. Small and out of the way, but definitely worth seeking out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A hipster Polish sushi chef in Krakow? Who made some of the best sushi I've ever had? Who would have expected that? What a great find. After days of too-heavy Central European food, we needed a break and found Youmiko on TripAdvisor. It really is a hole in the wall. You can eat out in the little garden or indoors in the tiny restaurant. There is NO ambiance. But you get amazing sushi, served with a smile by a great staff. The chef greeted us to find out what we wanted, and on his recommendation we just went with the flow and ate whatever he created, one piece of sushi at a time. He just told us to let him know when we were done. We had excellent miso soup to start. And then the most creative pieces of sushi I've ever had. I don't know if all the pieces would meet the strict sushi master guidelines, but these weren't just pieces of raw fish on top of sticky rice. We had marinated fish on top of a combo of red, black and brown rice -- so tasty, so much better than plain white rice, but it didn't overwhelm the fish. And one piece of sushi wasn't sushi at all: it looked like mackerel, but was really a piece of eggplant (which I love). If Youmiko was near my home; I'd be there every week. By the way, they don't sell any alcohol at all, only water and juices. But I noticed another patron run out and bring back his own beer, so I guess that's ok. Don't miss Youmiko!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited this wee gem on the recommendation of this site. It did not disappoint. Service was fast and friendly. Food was lovely and great value for money. Don't change a thing

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfort, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The top of the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

OMG! I'm speechless! How good that was! The best sushis I have ever tasted and there is no way I'll taste anything better in a million years. The food was so refined! There is no word to describe! It was tasteful, beautiful and original at the same time. Cooks were very nice, explaining us how they were making our food and what ingredients they were using. The place was very quiet, very nice. It was so hot that day in Cracow and going into this little tiny alley made us feel so fresh and so peaceful. This is the place to go in Cracow if you wanna have sushis! I would love them to move to my city so I could go every week!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Youmiko Sushi also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Youmiko Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youmiko Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.