We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rynek Underground

Rynek Underground
Rynek Glowny 1, Krakow 31-042, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 426-50-60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 120 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wasn't in Kraków for a long time. I remember when almost half of Main Market Square was closed because of archeological works. And when I came back I had an opportunity to go and see the Underground Museum. It is wonderful - interesting, entertaining and smart. You can really see how did it look the Centre of Krakow in the past. With some animations, movies and moquettes you can easily time travel.
Before going there check on the museum website promotional ticket prices.
I recommend it for everyone. Not to be missed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    243
    82
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must see when in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When you enter the underground you feel like you stepped into Medieval times. I was getting goose bumps while looking at the old stones that the streets were paved with. How many souls have walked them? How was life back then? It was so interesting to see the old tools and objects of everyday use. It was truly a fantastic experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

~Interesting visit lots to see and experience, well worth a visit it only costs a few zloty for admission

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

they really did try to make something out of nothing here and we commend them for their effort. the ruins of ancient walls were neat to see but some exhibits were difficult to see as it was dark. the pyramid a la the Louvre was a nice touch but did nothing to add to the space below.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

cannot begin to tell you of the size of this place 54 floors just the start of the visit carvings all made out of salt the mine is not to be missed on your visit photos do not show you the whole scene

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rynek Underground also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Rynek Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rynek Underground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.