We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rynek Underground

Rynek Underground
Rynek Glowny 1, Krakow 31-042, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 426-50-60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 143 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wasn't in Kraków for a long time. I remember when almost half of Main Market Square was closed because of archeological works. And when I came back I had an opportunity to go and see the Underground Museum. It is wonderful - interesting, entertaining and smart. You can really see how did it look the Centre of Krakow in the past. With some animations, movies and moquettes you can easily time travel.
Before going there check on the museum website promotional ticket prices.
I recommend it for everyone. Not to be missed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    212
    71
    25
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must see when in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When you enter the underground you feel like you stepped into Medieval times. I was getting goose bumps while looking at the old stones that the streets were paved with. How many souls have walked them? How was life back then? It was so interesting to see the old tools and objects of everyday use. It was truly a fantastic experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

~Interesting visit lots to see and experience, well worth a visit it only costs a few zloty for admission

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

they really did try to make something out of nothing here and we commend them for their effort. the ruins of ancient walls were neat to see but some exhibits were difficult to see as it was dark. the pyramid a la the Louvre was a nice touch but did nothing to add to the space below.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

cannot begin to tell you of the size of this place 54 floors just the start of the visit carvings all made out of salt the mine is not to be missed on your visit photos do not show you the whole scene

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rynek Underground also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Rynek Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rynek Underground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.