We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-designed museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rynek Underground

Rynek Underground
Rynek Glowny 1, Krakow 31-042, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 426-50-60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 120 Attractions in Krakow
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well-designed museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The centuries of history revealed in this archaeological museum were stumbled upon in 2005 during a project to repave the Rynek Glowny area. The museum is well laid out and provides very user-friendly information in multiple languages. Be sure to save time for the fascinating series of videos at the end, which reflect sequential eras from Krakow's early history to the 20th century.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    243
    82
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fun entrance way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This museum was outstanding. We spent about 2.5 hours there and could have spent more. Got a bit tired at the end and those were some of the best exhibits. Still, it was so much history about Krakow and how it was built up, literally. Gives you a real sense of the Cloth Hall and how important Krakow was to very early trade. Would have liked to have viewed some of the videos in their entirely but just didn't have time. English subtitles on exhibits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ancient history, modern setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is almost impossible to describe this place; walking 5 meters below the level of the Main Market, you are able to discover the history of the place from even tenth century. Entering the museum one have to cross "the curtain of time", and dive in the past. Although you can read comments on the many interactive screen, I would recommend to hire a professional guide. I visited the place for the third time and my guests were really impressed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Weird, yet somewhat interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I wasn't sure what to make of this place. I understand the historical interest and appreciate that there was some very important historical value. The main aspects were all well-explained and actually quite fascinating.

But, it was the presentation that I didn't get. It seemed to me they tried to make it dark (literally) and a bit spooky, but that failed. Parts of the museum are well-lit and clearly explained, whilst others are just weird. Also, they need to light up the information boards, as you can't read them properly in the dim light.

Not the worst museum I ever visited, but slightly strange and just wasn't sure what it was trying to be.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“surprisingly interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a lot larger than I thought it would be and very well displayed, very informative and worth visiting

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rynek Underground also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Rynek Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rynek Underground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.