We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organised Tour to Auschwitz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Cracow - Day Tours

Discover Cracow - Day Tours
Rynek Glowny 30 | ul. Grodzka 28/30, Krakow 31-042, Poland
+48 (012) 346 38 99
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$40*
and up
Private Tour: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow
Ranked #86 of 202 Activities in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DiscoverCracow.eu is one of the biggest tour operators specialising in inbound tourism based in the royal city of Cracow. We provide our clients with over 150 services, all of which are carefully researched and organised, multi-languages and available throughout Poland. We can be contacted via telephone, fax, e-mail and chat. If you send us a message, we shall get in touch with you and answer any questions. We can be contacted 7 days a week, between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Discover Cracow has been also customizing all-inclusive tours for groups, all individually designed, with understanding of the group profile and interest. We offer flexible group tours, and we can simply suit to needs and satisfy taste of the most demanding travellers. Our customer can choose from variety of hotels, tours and attractions.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Organised Tour to Auschwitz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked this 'Discover Cracow' tour through our apartment agent and athough they picked up up and dropped us back at the apartment following our visit, the group organisation and tour guide was not very good.
We were told there would be no more than 20 to 25 in our group. There was in fact nearer 60!
Yes it was very busy at Auschwitz, but we did feel we were herded through the museum and did not have the time to reflect. At Birkenau, there was no head piece so it was a struggle to hear what was being said.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrycja M, Director of Sales at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that it was not what you have expected. We are always doing our best to meet our guest needs. As you noticed Auschwitz was really busy last year and that is why we are going to intoduce new schedule for next season. Thank you for paying our attention to that matter,

Wish you all the best,

Patrycja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    27
    7
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do NOT do the Auschwitz day trip with this company!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On Fri 27 Sept, 6 of us did the Discover Krakow day trip to Auschwitz tour. Our expectation would be that we were going to have a very sobering day seeing for ourselves first hand the true horrors of this place. What should have been a very emotional day and a profound experience was just COMPLETELY and utterly ruined, that I'll need to go back one day and do it properly again. If you are interested in getting a proper experience and want to take your time, then please go to the Auschwitz website directly and book the full day experience and do it as your leisure. If you are a person who likes to have time to stop and read the bit of information about what you are seeing, DO NOT book this tour with Discover Krakow.

So we entered Auchwitz I and most people want to stop very quickly and take a photo of the 'Work Makes you Free' sign. Instead she marched us straight past it, so a few of us held back to wait our turn to get the photo of this infamous sign. Not a great start.

Then were all issued with headsetss to hear the guide. Unfortunately she began rattling SOOOO unbelievably fast that half the party began to tune her out, as they could not catch anything she was saying. Even though I asked if she could slow down, she didn't. Then we went into several barracks with displays. So the guide would rattle off information rapidly, then leave you with absolutely NO time to look at anything in the room, then march out into the next room giving her commentary. If you like to have a quick look around at what the displays were, you had NO time at all, because she then went into the next room and you could hear her talking about this room. But meanwhile you are at the back of the 50 people, or you are looking at what you are seeing / taking photos. But then you are worried about getting lost and losing your group. Meanwhile behind you the very next group of tourists are absolutely rammed behind you. So instead of being able to absorb what you are seeing, you are racing out of one room into the very next room constantly to try and find your tour group and where they've gone onto.

There are cabinet displays with so many original documents, that you want to have time to stop, pause and read / look at them, to see for yourself. Imagine going into a barrack with literally 80,00 shoes (!) encased in a glass cabinet and wanting time to just absorb seeing that, wondering who owned that particular pair. Spotting a few pairs of red shoes and concluding that the colour red was probably high status in that day, as there were few in that colour. But no, you have no time to stop and ponder at what you are seeing. Because unless you suddenly dash off into the next barrack, you will lose the tour guide. So the moment is completely lost.

Then it got even worse when we got to Auschwitz-Birkenau II camp. Again, a completely sobering experience is the famous site of the building where the railway track passes through and the familiar image of the exterior. Again, lots of us wanted to stop and get a personal photo of that image. So you need to wait a few minutes for other tourist to get out of the way, so you can get your own shot. But no, the guide had rushed everyone through and not allowed people unbelievably to get this image for themselves.

All she did (and we were all absolutely fuming) was take us to the side of the track, where the one remaining train carriage is, explain the selection process, then marched us off to one barrack to show us the conditions that they would have slept in. Plus a washing barrack. Then we were whisked out of the camp and onto the bus. Disgraceful!

I cannot BELIEVE that because Discover Krakow wanted their coach bus back in Krakow central (so they could run a tour to the salt mines that afternoon) they, they completely CUT OUR TOUR DOWN in Auschwitz-Birkenau II. How absolutely bloody disgraceful is that!!!!!

Our guide must have cut out lots of bits, as from chatting to other tourist the next day, we realised that we hadn't been given the chance to do any of the following:

1. The tower that you can go up to get a quick aerial view of the whole site and take in the sheer size & scale of it (!!!!)
2. Didn't take us down to the wooded area (which we could see lots of other groups being led down to), to see bombed out remains of the crematorium, memorial, ponds where ashes of the victims were dumped in
3. The other side of the camps for a general walk around.

Lots of other people in our group expressed the same sentiment and felt absolutely CHEATED of what should have been a very profound and moving experience.

As I say, if you want to see the site at your own pace, stop and have time to absorb the true horror of the place, make sure you book directly with Auschwitz museum website and do their all day tour that they offer. Unfortunately Auschwitz needs to urgently looking at capping the numbers per day, so that each barrack is not absolutely rammed with several tour groups at the same time, and tour guides losing their group.

Determined to get my money back for this experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tourist,

We understand your frustration but this opinion doesn't concern our company but museum's guide. In Auschwitz Birkenau Museum the tourists can go sightseeing just with museum's guide. We are dependent on Museum. We know that sometimes Auschwitz, when there is so many people' it's hard to keep place of the visit. But this Museum is very popular place for visitors from all over the world and sometimes it's very crowded and busy. I would like to believe thet museum's guide was doing his best to make tourists visit more comfortable as possible. Second metter. You bought the cheapest option. Our company offer private services so in our opinion you could choose this option, if you would stay longer in muzeum.

Thank you for your opinion.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Humbling experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Something I wanted to do all my life as I have read a lot about the concentration camp and the world should never ever forget what happened here. I was very impressed by the tour guide Agnes and feel the story of the camp is in good hands. She comes across very poignant and tells the story in a short time very well I did know all of the things she explained to me but for those not so well briefed she was very patient and answered any questions. I'm sure the rest of the guides are extremely qualified but well done Agnes your father in law will be proud that you carry the story so well. A must visit if you are in Krakow may they rest in peace.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Royst1968,

How are you doing? It was pleasure for us to offer you our services and I'm very happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay in Cracow and your tours as well.
You are always very welcome in our city. Hope to see you again in Poland!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our hotel booked two tours with this company, one to Aushwitz and the other to the Salt Mines and I must say how professional and curious the tour guides were and how prompt there were in picking you up and dropping you off.

Everything went smoothly at the venues with no issues.

Great service and recommend this company to take any tours around Krakow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tourist,

thank you very much for your opinion about our tour. I'm really glad when somebody who took part in one of our tours writes something so enthusiasthic about it and that proves that we're going in the right direction with our whole "quality management" and professionalism. Best regards thanks a lot for such a wonderful review!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very friendly guides, with excellent knowledge and always punctual. Command of English was good and adequate.

The tour prices were more expensive than I had anticipated. However, highly recommend the tour company. Walking tour of the old town and Eagle's tail(if you like castles), and Auschwitz were excellent for the money. The Salt mine tour was interested but found gimmick.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kokila W,

thanks for your review. We're glad to know that you've enjoyed our services. I hope you will visit our city again, we have much more to show you here.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Cracow - Day Tours also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Discover Cracow - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Cracow - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.